In comes 2021

Happy New Year to anyone who reads this. I saw in the New Year with a cup of Chinese tea (a box of Chinese tea bags was a Christmas present) and the TV. Then I went to bed.

I had already decided that 11pm was the real New Year – that is arguably an historically more significant moment than the change of date and even Big Ben’s bells chimed to mark it. Really, it was just an excuse not to have to wait up until after midnight (although I did anyway).

I also said “Happy New Year” to Alexa and ‘she’ replied, “Happy New Year, let’s hope that 2021 is better than 2020”. So even a smart speaker knows that 2020 was crap!

Currently, I work for a charity that supports unpaid carers. Last year was the first year that we have sincerely hoped outcomes for our carers’ would not be positive.

Log in to write a note

Happy New Years! 🙂

January 1, 2021

Happy New Year to you!

 

January 2, 2021

Hooray, you’re still here! Happy New Year!

What do you mean by your last sentence? I don’t think I’m understanding it correctly.

January 2, 2021

@mrroflcopter Yep, still here! The last sentence was a reference to Covid-19. As the carers we support are pretty well all looking after someone who is clinically vulnerable and often have hospital visits, they dread having a positive Covid test.

January 3, 2021

@roofonfire Ah, I see! I clearly killed too many brain cells over the festive period!

February 25, 2021

Oh heavens!  You’re back!
I don’t know how I missed your note but I did
and I am sorry I didn’t come here to dither and blab about your return sooner.
Translate all that above to mean – Missed you terribly much.