I’ve joined the rush

Weird.  I came to say "good bye" to OD in an unusually sentimental way.  I love that OD had one last little trick up its sleeve – it let me save a title, but no text.  I had to write this by saving my title-only entry and then editing it.

Anyway, for the same sentimental reasons, I have been randomly surfing some diaries.  95% of the ones I have landed on have claims by the owners that they’ve been around for up to 16 years.  I joined as a very shy novice in 1999 or 2000 and not a single one of those names is familiar to me.  Back then I read OD a LOT and it seems kind of surprising that I didn’t know any of them… it was a much smaller community in the early days.  Or perhaps everyone now has a different pen name.

Whatever, the end is nigh.

I’ve gone to Prosebox too, but it’s like starting a new job, I don’t yet feel that I belong there.  I wish Bruce would accept one of the offers he’s been made.  I understand that the data couldn’t be sold, but even just the skins of our diaries and comfortable cottages here would be nice to keep.  Most of us have downloaded and saved our word-furniture and could repopulate our diaries if we wanted to.

The moving finger writes and having writ, moves on….
 

Log in to write a note
January 30, 2014

I was there back in 2000! See you in the other place.

🙂 See ya at Prosebox!

January 30, 2014

Agreed!! 🙂

See you at PB!

February 6, 2014

I’ll have to check out Prose Box – it’s been lovely dipping in and out over the years. Take care xx