Caleb – third time is the charm?

Caleb told Eric (again) today that he wants to move in with us. Caleb admitted he’s been smoking again (not sure if he meant vaping or weed – but maybe both) and doesn’t like the choices he’s been making. He feels like he needs a reset and once again really wants to move from CA to MA. I guess the exchange went something like this

E: How long have you been thinking about this

C: about 3 weeks

(I know it’s far longer, considering how many other times in the past year this has come up)

E: Have you talked to your mother about this?

C: Every time I discuss it with her, she makes it about her. She gets upset and says she must be a bad mother and what can she do better….

E: My answer to you is and will always be yes. I want to make sure this is really what you want and that you’ve thought about it. Think about it for 24 more hours and if you still feel the same way, I will talk with your mother.

We already have a trip out there in 3 weeks, so maybe we come home with a kid? Oye. I started a “things we have to do before Caleb moves in list” today. It will be shelf stable, whether he comes in 3 weeks, 3 months or 2 years. But there is  LOT to do. And I am a little panicked.

We will see what goes down tomorrow.

Log in to write a note