Brilliant Christmas Day

 

Well that was one of the best Christmas Days ever.

It didn’t bode well at the beginning. Hubby had developed a bad cold last night and woke up feeling even worse, and I woke with a migraine. I took a tablet but it left me with bad side effects. Neither of us felt up to cooking Christmas dinner. Hubby said he could just manage to do the chicken it if one of our sons helped with veggies and I would have vegetarian sausage instead of the nut roast he was going to do for me.

When we spoke to our sons they told us they would do it all, so Hubby went back to bed and I retired to the living room to watch The Snowman and the Snowdog and the queen’s speech.

They made the most fantastic dinner with all of the trimmings and my elder son had made me a nut roast after Googling the recipe! By then I was feeling better and so was Hubby after the rest and we all really enjoyed our Christmas meal. To be honest I was so happy with what they did that I didn’t care if there were presents or not, but, of course, there were. Elder son got me a mini garden greenhouse so this spring I can have a go at growing Half hardy flowers and it will protect all of my seedlings from slugs. Younger son got his dad a sat nav so hopefully he won’t get lost so often!

My daughter had given me a beautiful handbag, pale blue with little birds on it. And speaking of birds it was a beautiful sunny day. I stood at the front door watching the blue tits in our neighbours garden, there were at least six of them, and, of course, it was quiet because no one was on the road and all I coulld hear was the bird song.

In the evening we watched Call the Midwife and Eastenders but I was too tired to stay up until 11.30 to watch Downton Abbey so will look forward to the repeat on Friday. I’ve come to bed with a book, another gift from my daughter Richard the Third and the Murder in the Tower, she found it on my Amazon wishlist.

 

Log in to write a note
December 30, 2013

How lovely that your boys cooked the dinner for you. That is the sort of thing that really means something isn’t it?