Embracing the gray

I have colored my hair since I was in my late teens. I have had all ranges of blond – medium, highlighted, totally platinum blond – I’ve done it. And I was still doing it on 3/14/20. Then all of the salons closed. And remain closed today 6 weeks later.

I’d been considering letting my hair go to gray but I wasn’t sure how to do it or even if I really, really wanted to. I am taking this opportunity to do it. I’m tired of spending every 4th Saturday at the salon. Tired of the upkeep in general. Tired of spending a lot of money to maintain my hair.

 

So…I’m going to let it grow out. And I’m documenting the journey.

First,  a picture of me with my blond hair and then a couple of pictures taken yesterday morning showing the beginnings of the growing out process:

 

 

 

Image may contain: one or more people and closeup    Image may contain: one or more people and closeup

 

I’m on my way…

 

Log in to write a note
April 25, 2020

i’m 43. i have embraced my gray hair for almost a year now…  welcome to the club!

April 25, 2020

You have beautiful hair! Looks great letting the gray take over.  I’ve colored my hair forever too, but am considering letting it go gray. My hair is not nearly as pretty as yours though. I have to keep it short and layered because it thinned after my bout (successful) with cancer and never thickened again.

May 1, 2020

You have nice hair still. My hair is a natural auburn red.