Just whining

So I am sitting waiting for my show to come on tonight thought I would write a little. My husband has the day off tomorrow I think I am going to go visit my sister in the hospital. She had surgery a few days ago and unfortunately she woke up and cant feel her legs. They are getting ready to move her to a rehab to have physical therapy and hopefully get some function back. It’s got to be incredibly hard for her I know she is really having a hard time. Her son is 3 or 4 I dont know which is sad he’s my nephew but well I am not that close with my family.

My other sister wrote me yesterday asking if I would drive to Florida to pick up her daughter if she gave me gas money. I told her no which honestly I do feel bad saying no but I had to really think about it. First its on the 3rd of July which I dont feel comfortable driving during the 4th in city’s that I dont know. Second I have night blindness and cant drive after dark. Third I get tired very easily driving I wouldn’t have the money for a hotel and my husband and I only have 1 car which he would need for work.  So I said no.

So of course I got the guilt trip from my mother saying that she is going to fly in and get her and then fly back which may not sound like a big deal but my mom is stage 4 kidney failure going could literally kill her all because my sister is afraid to fly. I’m sorry I am terrified to fly but I do it.

That’s just the way it is in my family though no one talks to me until they need something then my mother gets all pissed off when I say no.

For example last month I flew to Maine to help out my aunt after she was injured I was supposed to be gone 2 weeks but my oldest sister (I have 3 sisters) decided that she was going to move to Maine so we hashed out everything that my sister was going to fly in the day I left and I was going to drive myself to the airport and switch with them and they would take the car back. I booked a 7 am flight and their flight got off at 1am. Because I cannot drive at night I was going to get to the airport in the morning. So we talked it all out booked everything and not 10 minutes after I booked the flight I got a call from my mother saying that my sister would not wait at the airport that long I needed to pick her up at 1am and I could wait at the airport.

I got upset at my mother because 1 I cant drive at night 2 we had discussed all of it and it was all set and 3 I was badly injured at a bus station 3 years ago which led to my break down so she knows I have a really hard time and I was going to be traveling alone in a wheel chair (I’m fine I’m not in a wheel chair anymore) and my sister was going to be with her husband. I was really really angry because I spent an extra week away from my kids I set up the whole thing and all anyone had to do was tell me before hand. Why is it easier for me to wait at the airport and not them.  The whole thing was we were avoiding me driving at night so getting there in the middle of the night doesnt work for me and I had my aunts van that needed to be returned to my aunt which they were going to go live with and none of us had the money to pay for parking. So of course I did it I waited at the airport.

Its over now I’m over it but this whole thing with everyone being angry with me about not driving to Florida really irks me. I want to help but its not my responsibility and its her child she needs to suck it up get on the plane for her kid. Or get a bus ticket. She shouldn’t have let her go without a ride home to begin with. Not my problem I am already raising her oldest daughter and have been for the last 12 years. She needs to grow up and take responsibility and do whatever it takes.

Rant done my show should be on in 7 minutes now.

Log in to write a note
June 19, 2019

See, the guilt you feel about the driving to Florida thing, I would call that Mormon Guilt. I don’t know how long you were a member for. I’m so used to that. Whenever I didn’t want to go to Utah to visit family, my mom tries to make me feel terrible. It’s awful. You made the right decision though, based on all the reasons you said.

I am not a fan of your sister not going to Florida to get her kid herself. I’m guessing there’s a reason, but I mean having your mom go when she’s in that condition is pretty awful, in my opinion.

I would be annoyed to. The expecting you to be able to just drop everything to solve their problems, no matter how inconvenient it is for you.