“I Don’t Know”

Why is a scar on a man a mark of distinction,
on a woman a mark of disfigurement?

I don’t know.

Why is it funny when a man loses his hair,
and tragic when a woman loses hers?

I don’t know.

What will you tell her when the x-rays turn the
scar on her breast raw-hamburger red?

I don’t know.

When she’s bald, lost the hair from her eyebrows,
and lies with closed eyes, with a skeletal look,
will you kiss her and tell her she’s beautiful?

I don’t know.

What do you do in the bedroom, whe she
is thinking of death, and she cries?

I hold her hand and I breathe.

© Joe Milosch All Rights Reserved.

Notes:
This was written by a man who’s wife was battling breast cancer.
So very sad, so very powerful.

Log in to write a note
July 8, 2005

yes it is very sad and powerful. When I think of such scenerios, I feel guilty for any of my superficial insecurities.

July 8, 2005

yes it is very sad and powerful. When I think of such scenerios, I feel guilty for any of my superficial insecurities.

July 8, 2005

yes it is very sad and powerful. When I think of such scenerios, I feel guilty for any of my superficial insecurities.