Friends with the Monster

And so it ends…another year’s busiest time wrapped up.  Goodbye to working until midnight, no more late nights, or early mornings, huzzah!  

The last week was a doozy working around the clock, doing a marathon without having trained (do not recommend), attending a gala the next day, then three more late nights, including a super late Thursday work dinner at Spice Market, after-party, then my own after-party of more work after that, book-ended with a super early morning and finally freedom around 7pm Friday evening.  Freeeeedom!  I slept through the whole darn weekend (almost) venturing out only for a few hours to see The Pretty Reckless on Saturday night.  They were great but there would have been no getting me out of the house if I hadn’t already purchased the tickets. 
 
  
  
 

Since then my life is my own again,  I’m doing another boot-camp and really enjoying it.  I’m even eating well, which is a first for me, but long overdue.  I hardly ever cook so it’s a novelty to roast brussels sprouts and butternut squash and all that and bake things in the oven.  It was dumb of me to intentionally gain weight for swimming.  Yes, it helped reassure me I could get through the swims, but in retrospect I think acclimatization is more important than body fat %, as long as you’re in a healthy range.  Even for Loch Ness, I am not sure if there is a body fat % that would have kept me going in that cold, I either need to wear a wetsuit or swim much faster to generate enough heat.  It’s unhealthy to keep on extra weight, and I really felt it during the marathon.  I want to be in good health for as long as possible, and staying consistently in shape needs to be part of that, not hanging on to extra fat as a safety blanket for cold water.

In other news, I walked out of the office and my tights immediately started falling down.  I gave a tug in the elevator and they continued to fall down on the way to the subway, on the way home from the subway, down to my knees as I walked up my stairs.  It was really cold too!  Just had to share that.  I threw them out but kind of hated doing it since they didn’t even have a hole in them, but it was necessary.  I have a zillion pairs of opaque black tights and I really need to start switching some out – I think some are from like 2001, but I hate to get rid of anything since I do laundry like, never.  

Anyway hopefully 2014 will be an exciting and healthy year!  

Log in to write a note
December 2, 2013

Looking good. I shiver so easily and so hard I dunno if I could ever get in any water outside of Costa Rica without a wetsuit on. I’m such a wimp.

I wish I could say that I am deliberately holding on to extra fat. But, it is holding on to me, instead. Ha.

Lookin’ good & cute shoes!

December 2, 2013

🙂

You look smashing. I love the hemline on the dress!

December 2, 2013

You ran a marathon without training?! That is amazing! You don’t even look like you’ve just ran a marathon in that second pic, you must be super fit! Well done!

Love your dress and shoes, you look amazing. I am actually roasting Brussels sprouts for dinner tonight, along with some salmon…

December 2, 2013

Love this!!

Kudos to you for finishing a marathon without training! i’m not sure I could do it.

December 2, 2013

you and S look gorgeous, as usual!

December 3, 2013

Haha I know what you mean about throwing clothes away. I hate doing laundry too. Why is it so annoying?

December 3, 2013

Nice legs! It doesn’t look like you have any extra fat to me!

December 3, 2013

If anyone could run a marathon without training, it’s you. Love the pics of you guys running it too, those are really good for being candid.

December 3, 2013

RYN: The third season of PR All Stars is the only PR joint I’ve boycotted. I just can’t abide three winners being on it. It makes my, “It’s Not Fair!” flair up. Although I have been asking my friends who watch how it’s going.

Am also having a hard time seeing the extra fat? You look fit and beautiful! I am scared to make Brussels sprouts for some reason. I love them when other people make them but worry that mine will end up limp and soggy like the ones we dreaded as children.

LOVE your gown! Did I miss that you did a Loch Ness swim?

RYN* I used to have a tee shirt that said a Bruin is forever, but a Trojan is only good once. Wish I still had it (while my kids are too little to read.)

December 5, 2013

The year isn’t over yet! You look great, LOVE the shoes. Marathon without training? I’m in awe. Both of your capability and your stupidity! 😉

December 6, 2013

You look amazing and those shoes are HOT! The feeling of tights or nylons falling down is the worst. When I was young, I would actualy wear 2 sets of panties (one under the tights, one over the tights) just because I HATED the feeling of them falling down even a little.

December 6, 2013

I agree with Pandora. No extra fat.

December 6, 2013

Acclimatisation to cold water is all well and good but your body still loses heat and if you are going to be in for a while you need protection!! I saw The Pretty Reckless supporting Evanescence a couple of years back. Quite the contrast! CD xxx

December 6, 2013

I discovered the wonders of roasting veggies a couple of winters ago– who would have dreamed it’s so EASY to make amazingly tasty food??? And.. if you use an immersion blender on them, you get unbelievably delicious SOUP! I like to cook in theory, but am far too lazy in reality to do much of it. RYN- Stonehenge is definitely worth seeing even when you can’t go up to the stones- althoughit’s roped off, it’s done in a surprisingly tasteful way, and the ropes are very unobtrusive. I’d really love to go at the equinox, though. I’m kind of jealous of my husband, honestly. You can also arrange a non-roped-off visit apparently but I’m not sure how difficult that is.

December 7, 2013

Well done on completing your marathon:) I am forever tugging up my tights in the elevator, I really should invest in some new tights!

December 7, 2013

Haha I so feel you on the tights thing. It’s like how I have about four thousand pairs of black leggings, several faded and falling apart, yet they continue to clog up my closet. WHY? Excellent pics. You guys are so cute.

Sounds like you needed the sleep all weekend after that busy schedule! Marathon without any training, hope you weren’t too sore afterwards 😉

you look great! those shoes are so cute. enjoy your off season. i’m grateful for my extra layer of fat right now so i’m not freezing all the time. 😉

December 24, 2013

Congrats on the marathon!!

December 24, 2013

thanks for your notes 🙂 OMG on running a marathon without training. also, gorgeous dress (and shoes!). happy holidays!!

Brussel sprouts and squash, that’s pretty hardcore! You guys look great!! Happy New Year to you and S. I’m sure it will bring lots of new adventures to you! You’re not at Prosebox (yet) are you?

ryn: The church is part of a denomination called Christian and Missionary Alliance. That denomination is in the States too, but it’s different here. Basically – modern protestant evangelical. I like it because it’s so focused on reaching out to the needs of people in the community and around the world. Mehmet likes it because he loves the preaching. 🙂

January 6, 2014

I need to get into a sport like you do that I can be excited about. Just going to the gym is so…blah.

January 6, 2014

I need to get into a sport like you do that I can be excited about. Just going to the gym is so…blah. Yay to pantyhose being too big. Wow, you must have lost a lot of weight. Too bad it’s so cold out right now.

January 7, 2014

How good of shape are you in to run a marathon without training, amazing!

January 20, 2014

I envy your athleticism and the ability to be sexy at the same time. 🙂

January 21, 2014

Always so elegant in your favorite color! Sending love from snowy Maryland!