Not With a Bang but a Whimper

I know in the grand scheme of things, this is small potatoes.  A website, shutting down.  Two thousand miles away, the closing of a window.

But I’m crying right now.  For better or for worse, I would not be the person I am today without OD.

And all of you.

See you on Prosebox.

This is the way the world ends
This is the way the world ends
This is the way the world ends
Not with a bang but a whimper.

-T.S. Eliot

Log in to write a note

I am not crying, but you are right. So many wonderful people are in my life just because we happened across each other on this little website! Really amazing.

January 27, 2014

Such a shame. See you on Prosebox.

I just hope Prosebox starts to feel more like home, as OD has. See you there… same name??

January 27, 2014

I hear ya.

I’m not crying either. I lost my love for this place in 2013. I care only about the people, and they’re hopefully all oving to PB, so nothing else matters to me. I’m so glad you’ll be over there! 🙂

January 27, 2014

It is really sad – at least we had a little warning, which I didn’t expect, but still. I’m on PB too, same name – I’ll add you!

I’m sad too. 13 years of my life here and it’s over just like that.

January 27, 2014

I am so glad you wrote this. Because I thought I was being melodramatic, crying. Thank you. I’m glad you’ll be over there. xo

I’m crying my eyes out too!

Same here. <3

January 27, 2014

I’m crying, too. On an airplane. I can’t believe OD will be no more.

I am probably being melodramatic. But I am so, so sad. A part of me is going to be gone forever.

I’m on Prosebox too, not sure if we’ve crossed paths over there but I’m under the same name.

January 27, 2014

I am honestly surprised at how sad I am about this. We all knew it was coming, and there are other options at this point, but . . . still. So sad.

I’m so sad.

P.S. I will cry my ****ing eyes out the first time I go to the OD link and it DOESN’T WORK and I know that it’s FOREVER.

I’m sad too

January 27, 2014

It is so hard to believe. 🙁

January 27, 2014

Crying too. See you there.

I wish we could all somehow have a group hug. It’s so so sad. I love OD.

January 27, 2014

You, like Sylvie, have been a damn inspiration to me and my life. Fearless, beautiful. Prose box might be but it’s not going to be this. But it changes. Impermanence. So it be.

January 27, 2014

<3

January 27, 2014

It’s definitely sad. I’ll read at Prosebox but am not sure if I can write there…I just don’t like the site. I will really miss OD. 🙁

January 27, 2014

I sobbed for ten minutes after finding out. It’s really hard, even with the knowledge that it was coming.

January 27, 2014

I wasn’t expecting to be as sad as I am.

January 27, 2014

are you satine on prosebox?

January 27, 2014

I am so, so sad. 🙁

Exactly. And as I am going through my bookmarks and friends to make the connection to PB I find myself growing more and more nostalgic and sad. See you on the other side sister.

xoxoxoxo

January 27, 2014

See you there! Xoxo

January 28, 2014

for years your stories have comforted and entertained me. i am so glad this place brought us together. xx

January 28, 2014

Ugh, I think you know how I feel about all this. Please find me on FaceBook and Prosebox.

bob
January 28, 2014
January 28, 2014

I’m with you.

Same name on Prosebox?

RYN: Yeah…I have a bit of a history in that regard. I’ve tried to put the brakes on it, for the most part…but it is tough because I have gone through some really tough times in the past few years and REALLY wanted to talk about them here. Looking forward to seeing you on Prosebox, though!

January 29, 2014

I’m “echoes to the evolution” on prosebox xxxx

it’s just a new beginning, with mostly the same people. 🙂

January 29, 2014

I am sad too…even though I stopped writing regularly. 13 years of history. I joined prosebox and added you as a friend. Maybe it will help me write more. See ya on the other side. 🙂

January 30, 2014

No PB for me, but then again, I haven’t felt like a part of the community in a long time. Regardless, I enjoyed reading you over the years, and appreciated your notes and feedback. Have yourself a good life, okay? No matter which coast you ultimately end up on. Or maybe it’ll be Omaha. Stranger things have happened. Take care, friend.

February 1, 2014

I’m going to miss this community more than I can express in words, even if I haven’t blogged here in years. There’s over a decade of my inner thoughts recorded here. Please keep in touch. http://www.facebook.com/ekbrowne

My last every now

February 6, 2014

Yikes don’t know what happened there! Anyhoo, my last every now goes to you my lovely, see you on the other side xxx

February 6, 2014

Oh far, stupid autocorrect! That SHOULD say ‘last ever note’. You’ve now gotten my last three ever notes! Xxx