Placidly, Amidst the Noise & the Haste

In some ways, my life has completely changed since I last wrote here.  In other ways, it’s exactly the same.

I still work too much.  I don’t sleep enough.  I still live in my tiny perfect nest in New York City.

But I’ve been around the world since 2014, literally and figuratively.  All seven continents, high and low and the wildest most extreme places all around the world.  Experiences beyond compare.  Rewards beyond my imagining, but also a certain degree of notoriety, and all the insecurities that come along with that.

This has always been my home.  With all the strangers looking in on me from other places, maybe it’s time to carve out something for myself again.

Words, not photos.

Let’s see…

Log in to write a note
March 28, 2018

I don’t know if you remember me, but I’ve wondered about you through the years and how you were doing.  Do you still swim?

March 28, 2018

@bambamgotchatwice Oh yes on both accounts!  I remember you very well and I am swimming more than ever.  Maybe more than anyone in the world…actually.  I will try and write a summary of things.  Missed you dearie.

March 28, 2018

@satine I’ve missed you too!  So glad to see you writing.

March 28, 2018

You describe NYC for me. I didn’t sleep enough. I worked like crazy. I lived in the same apartment for a decade. But life was always unpredictable. Nice to see you again.

Cat
March 29, 2018

Here are are again! Like we never left!  We’ve come full circle, for sure (especially you, who has swum around the globe)
Smiling to be reunited again here even though we never fell out of touch 🙂

March 29, 2018

Well doesn’t this feel familiar 😘

March 29, 2018

💜

March 29, 2018

Good to see you here!

March 29, 2018

You are one of the people I read most consistently for years. I’m fascinated by your round-the-world tales and I’m so glad you’re here!

March 29, 2018

Good to see you back!  I am in Manhattan again fairly regularly, so perhaps we can grab a drink one evening.

March 29, 2018

AAAAAH, How is it possible that the year is 2018 and I am reading something you wrote on OPEN FRIGGING DIARY??? I have missed you so very much (though I am thankful for our facebook friendship). You are amazing and I hope you stay. I am planning to.

March 30, 2018

I love following along with you on FB, but am glad to see you over here again too. 🙂

March 30, 2018

Welcome back to OD!

April 1, 2018

Hello!

April 6, 2018

Hello! I was just wondering how you are – it’s great to see you on here!

April 6, 2018

Sounds exotic and lovely.