Mykonos, Greece *pics* (vacation entry #5)

Dear Diary,

I’m finally back to continue on with my trip entries.  I’ve been wrapped up in Disney planning in my spare time since I last wrote.  There’s a lot of details to work through but I’m pretty set.  In addition to the Disney Magic Cruise and two park days prior, I decided to add two park days following, too.  This means we’ll get all four parks after all.  I’m so, so giddy with excitment over all of this!  

I’ve also just made a change to my Sept / Oct travel plans.  I had booked a cruise on the Epic with hopes of using my air miles to book the flight to Barcelona.  I had to wait a couple of weeks for the dates to become available for air mile booking.  Once they did the level I wanted to book at wasn’t available.  So the bad news is I cancelled my cruise reservation today.  

The good news is that during the same week I had planned to take the cruise I’m going to Paris instead!!! I was able to use my air miles for that trip’s flight.  So, I’m there for 6 days.  Two or 3 of the days I plan to do Disneyland Paris.  The other half of the trip I’ll explore Paris.  I’m also hoping to do a day trip to London.  I still have a ton of planning to do.  I just rearranged these travel plans today. So exciting!  The cruise would have been a solo trip and I’m planning on travelling on my own to Paris, too.

Okay…. back to the Greece pictures now…  This one is from the wee hours of the morning as the ship approached Mykonos.

 

Another pretty ship in port that day….

Getting a bit lighter out…. a 3 masted ship approaching…
 

The ships atrium that morning…. pretty quiet…

As I went to meet up with my tour group for the day I passed a lounge that I liked the glass work in….

I think these lighting fixtures are neat…

Especially this one….

Off the ship now…. isn’t she pretty!?

Lots of little boat crushes all in a row…

Here is that ship I photographed coming in earlier that morning now docked.  The Jade is docked beyond it…

On the tour now…. A nice view of one of the typical windmills and then the coastline dotted with buildings…

The view in the other direction….

In this next one there are several windmills in a row down close to the water…

This island had many red domed churches unlike the others that had the blue domed churches….

We made a beach stop and I had the chance to dip my toes in the Agean Sea….

This was a pretty stop….  I also was able to get in touch with home using the Wi-Fi while here.  I never did end up needing to use the ship’s internet.  I found connections often enough while in port.

A photo through the bus window….

Same

church with a view of it’s red roof….

The tour moved on to a little town square area where we explored a monastery and then had lunch….

A monk within the monastery….

church bells….

a nook within the church courtyard…

Inside the church…

Another very pretty spot within the monastery courtyard….

A priest perhaps…

A very yummy lunch and ouzo to drink (it’s like a liqourice tasting liqour)

Lunch location…

The view from where I had lunch…

This time of year the vegetation is very dry and brown.  The tour guide mentioned that in the spring it is more green with wild flowers.  This is a pretty bay though even when dry….

A colorful building along the way….

A lovely color of sea….

I was back on the ship fairly early in the afternoon.  The sun on the balcony was perfect so I enjoyed my book from there!

A treat delivered to the room….

The ship’s pretty theatre…

That night I ate in the Italian restaurant and there was really great, live music….

And that concludes the day…..
My Library at LibraryThing
More trip to come.  Hopefully it won’t take me so long to come back to post.  I’m curious if anyone is reading so if you made it this far please note with your name even if there’s no comment.  Thanks!

Log in to write a note
November 6, 2013

awesome pictures! my fiance and I are starting to plan for our honeymoon and an island hop in Greece is DEFINITELY a contender 🙂

I always read you …love your trips. I wish I had the mobility and funds to travel.

November 6, 2013
November 6, 2013

Im reading!! You’ve been on my favorites for ages and I read faithfully but I never comment! Too shy maybe haha

November 6, 2013

Reading of course! Love Paris! Recommend the hop on/hop off bus tours & getting the museum pass. Took Christopher to Disneyland Paris 3 times. You can take the train from Paris to London. We’ve done the before – except it was London to Paris. Highly recommend Rick Steves travel books. He has such good travel trips & where to stay & eat. I think we have about every country that he’s done.

November 6, 2013

Great pictures! What a fun trip. I am hoping to go to Italy next year.

November 6, 2013
November 6, 2013
November 6, 2013

Wow. Looks amazing. When you go to Disney on your own, do you go on all the rides? I don’t know what there is to do for adults there.. I always thought it was just something adults did because the kids loved it. Fill me in! 🙂

November 6, 2013

I always read you! 🙂

Beautiful pics. Looks like a lovely ship too!

November 6, 2013
November 6, 2013

Those are beautiful pictures. I know you are going to enjoy going to all the parks. It’s good you separated it into two days. On one of the trips to the parks that I did the four parks killed my legs…lol

November 6, 2013

Those are beautiful pictures!

November 7, 2013

On the monk picture I read it as Monkey and had a laugh! Paris sounds wonderful! Can’t wait to see those photos. Traveling alone is scary to me, I admire your bravery!

sol
November 7, 2013

looks like a nice vacation

I really envy your ability to travel like you do. You are very fortunate. One day I will do it as well, just not my time yet.

November 7, 2013

I’m loving all the photos!! How are you liking the new camera.

November 8, 2013

looks like fun

November 8, 2013

Hi, I’m still reading!!! Loving the photos!

November 8, 2013

I always read! So jealous of all your fun adventures! 🙂

November 8, 2013
November 9, 2013

RYN: It has 30x Optical zoom. So far I’m pretty happy with it. The low light photos I’ve tested so far come out clear and sharp. I think it will be perfect for vacations as well as taking nicer staged photos when needed. It’s a Nikon L820 if you’re curious. I am on Disboards, same name there. Haven’t done much there yet though.

November 9, 2013
November 10, 2013

i still come back to check out what you have written!

November 10, 2013
November 14, 2013

I know your the cruise queen my wife and I want to take our son who will be two in July on a cruise around his bday we will be leaving the baby with our family, any suggestions. Did you do the Disney cruise when your boy was that young?

Love love love! I find the all white buildings to be really beautiful. Bummer about the cruise, but Paris is one of my favorite cities. Wonderful choice! Ashley