9/24/05

 

   Autumn is finally here!  Oxford is blessed with Indian Summer.  I’ve been a bit busy these past weeks.  Work is going smoothly although the work is coming in bits and there are days when there are no contracts to revise so we’re asked to stay home.  This isn’t a problem with me cause I get a chance to relax, yet for Eric and myself if we don’t work a day we don’t get paid.  I don’t really have any set bills to pay yet I am beginning to establish myself here and have opened two bank accounts…one savings account for myself and a joint account with Hubby and I like to set aside a few pennies and keep ahead of myself.  It’s ideal to save three months’ worth of salary in the bank for reserve.

  I’ve started saving £10.00 a week for Christmas.  I have also cashed in on the Holdiay Savings Account that I and Hubby started in the States.  The money got transfered to my checking account and I now have that extra money to play with by using my American Debit Card to withdaw the money. 

I have already begun to buy the Christmas presents.  I’ve made the 2005 Christmas Card list and Gift list and have already bought a few gifts.  I like being ahead of myself.

Yesterday I went to the main Library!  It’s huge!  I borrowed a few DVD’s!  They have a room just for DVD’s and Videos, a music room, a computer centre and a lovely Children’s Room. 

 

I’m enjoying my Weekend with Hubby here.  I’ll be doing some knitting and just relaxing today.  Tomorrow I have to bake a flan for my Hubby so he can take to work.  He bragged about my famous flans and his work mates have put in a request for one of my favourite flans.

I’m proud of Hubby!  He had his appraisal yesterday at work.  He’s getting a promotion and a bonus!

 

I’m enjoying my Life here!

Log in to write a note
September 24, 2005

I think working a part-time week and having time off is phenominal. I wish I could have time off to spend with the people I love. Enjoy what you have- it changes so quickly.

I have started my Chrissy shopping too! I love the anticipation.