leg amputation

A few weeks ago my coworker’s husband was severely injured at work. Part of his leg had to be amputated. Surgery was delayed a couple times because of blood issues (couldn’t keep blood pressure steady the first time, 2nd time an issue with the hemoglobin). He has been at home for a few days now.

I use to work with this guy, Bill. Both of us quit our old jobs. I hadn’t talked to Bill in 5 years. I’ve worked with Bill’s wife, Deb, for 4 years now. Today I went to Bill and Deb’s house. The whole conversation went fast, very interesting. They have lots going on. Bill has physical therapy, occupational therapy. Depression will eventually come. Redoing some of their house to make it friendly for Bill (railings, bathtub, ramp). Since Bill’s right leg was amputated, he can’t drive right now. In a few months (if the healing process goes well) he can get fitted for a prosthetic.

I’ve cried a few times for Bill. I feel so bad for him and Deb. He seemed to be in good spirits during the visit. I feel he wants company.

Log in to write a note