post holiday

My sister sent me a text.

Grandpa is in the hospital. Uncle Dan drove up in the middle of the night and got grandpa admitted this morning (the 26th). Grandpa is weak and uncomfortable so Dr’s  have grandpa on IV pain meds. Dr’s advising grandpas kids (my aunts/uncles) to visit grandpa as this might be the end. Mom and Uncle Burt were there last weekend. Aunt Beth, Uncle Kevin are going to see Grandpa this weekend.

So my sister might go see grandpa sometime soon, after this weekend. My sister wants my mom and aunts/uncles to see grandpa first. Plus there is suppose to be a big snow storm for this weekend, starting late Friday. 12 inches of snow is expected in the area of my grandparents (they live 4.5ish hours from me….and the town my sister and I live in is expecting rain/ice/snow too).

Then my sister and I had some texts back and forth. Sister eventually text this:

Uncle Dan said Grandpa weighs 180 pounds. All fluid that needs to get out of his system via catheter. Grandpa will not be going home, will move over to a swing bed at the hospital. Grandma cannot take care of him at home.

Log in to write a note