Cow slippers like to graze on mailed information

I realised the other day, and actually saw in the mirror today, something that would be disturbing if I wasn’t a blonde. I noticed months ago that my belly was getting hairy (I blame Jake and his genes that are now inside me forming another person… he’s a very hairy person) but I now have a neck-beard. Not just normal mammalian light tiny fuzz but long (half inch?) blonde hairs, congregating on the sides of my neck. It is amusing and weird and I’m glad I have long hair and it is winter and they are blonde hairs. Hope that all goes away once bub is out of me, I assume it will. Thinking of it as just a temporary thing due to hormones makes it kinda hilarious. And fun to pat.

I can’t wait for christmas to be over, mostly because I can’t wait to be done with all the ads using christmas music. Right now I have the nissan "most wonderful sale of the year" stupid ad in my head and I want to shoot it. Not my head, the song. Although it is better than what I think is called "winter wonderland"? I hate that song. It gets stuck in my head and I don’t care about that stupid snowman, just leave my head!!! I haven’t listened to any christmas music voluntarily yet (unless you count at the grocery store a few weeks ago when I stopped to listen to the start of a song to see if I was right and it was in fact the Jackson 5. It was, because I’m that good) and I don’t know if I will, even on christmas day. Maybe we will, we do have trans siberian orchestra christmas music on this computer and that’s pretty tolerable. Up to Jake though.

Yesterday on his lunch break, Jake had a doctor’s appointment. As I also stated on facebook, he doesn’t have to go back for a year! It is so awesome that medical people look at Jake and see the results of blood tests or MRIs or something and then want to see him as little as possible. Especially now that there are more important people about to enter the world.

Oh, I just sneezed and it huuuurt. I hate sneezing. And coughing. I think it because my diaphragm is wedged up more in my ribcage so when it has to be used for sudden-type thing it makes me ache. Makes me SO GLAD I’m not pregnant in Australia because I’m allergic to everything there, especially this time of year, so I’d be sneezing constantly and therefore be in constant pain. I don’t know if it is related to the sneeze that just happened, but for the first time in days I am sitting down and there ISN’T something wedged under my right ribs pushing them out. Oh wait, she’s back. Ah well, was a nice little break.

This morning, I had a dentist appointment. So glad Lisa and I went on a mini journey to find out where to go last week, because this morning my GPS refused to turn on. I think the cigarette lighter in the car is busted, even after having the GPS plugged in for the whole ride (20-25 minutes) it would not turn on, but after 25 seconds of being plugged into the wall at home, it turned on. But I knew where I was going, so I didn’t get freaked out.

The whole appointment went very smoothly, but of couse, it was about my teeth and my teeth rule. I’m so lucky they do. I’m also glad that my being pregnant provides a great source of chit-chat, something I am usually terrible at (although, usually for people I just meet my aussieness and "omg why did you move HERE?" is enough for a minute or two). I found it very weird that I was handed a bunch of forms to fill in, with my name and birthdate and social security number on, but they didn’t ask to see any ID to make sure they were giving me the right papers. I was told I MUST bring in so much stuff (photo id, social security card, insurance card, proof of income. Not A LOT but seemed it) but they didn’t look at any of it. Kinda weird.

(For my own future reference) The dental hygenist was certain I MUST drink coffee or tea, or was a wine drinker before getting pregnant. Amused me that it is none of those. I do like some dark red juices though, she seemed to think I was weird for suggesting that. My back molars are all potential for cavities but nothing to worry about (whatever that means) and she could tell by looking at my teeth that I had had braces. The dentist… I barely saw him, and when I did he had the mask on, so I don’t know what he looks like. I go back in just over 2 weeks for a cleaning, he wanted to get it done before the baby arrives because I’ll be too busy/occupied after that. So that’s nice. Especially nice because I only have insurance for a few months after the birth, and I was thinking it would be so pointless to go to a first appointment and then not go again for 6 months, by which time I won’t have insurance and would have to cancel my appointment anyway. This way, it makes today seem more productive.

And then I came home and ate all but 2 of the leftover gingerbread cookies. Partially as a reward for going to the dentist, and partially because the idea of anything else that I could think of was about as appetising as a bowl of puke would be.

Log in to write a note
December 20, 2011

ryn: Yeah a less sweet version of it. It needs the malty goodness! Although it is better than no Milo at all but if I want the malty kind have to go out of town. It seems like you had a productive day. Yay and ooo gingerbread cookies.

December 21, 2011

Why do you only have ins for a few months after birth?

December 21, 2011

Yay for good teeth. Poor baby probably felt like she was being squeezed out.

December 22, 2011

Random about your beard!

December 24, 2011

Yes! The hairiness will go away shortly after giving birth. However, the downside is you may also lose a lot of head hair too. It’s kinda crazy and if you’re like me it may seem necessary to buy stock in Draino. :o/ ~jo