Gravitational Tentacles

This weekend has been SO LOVELY. Relaxing, snuggly, warm in the apartment (today was meant to get up to 33F (1C) but I don’t know if it ever got that ‘warm’), just overall loveliness and joy and happy and smiles and a big belly that likes to jump right as I’m falling asleep on the couch watching shows about space so I don’t actually fall asleep. Baby A is so useful, not letting me miss out on info.

Friday night’s dinner was an amazingly tasty soup, we ate it all weekend and every time we were like "mmm…. good soup." It contained all the little leftover bits of veggies and broth and such from when we did Thanksgiving 2 weeks ago, so they weren’t really useful for anything else. On the veggie side, it was mostly parsnips, which I couldn’t be bothered chopping small so I shredded them in the food processor. It looked like a giant pile of cheese that JUST WOULD NOT MELT. The massive pile of parsnip made Jake happy, he loves parsnips which is something I did not know until a few weeks ago. I was planning on making it a blended soup, so there were huge chunks of garlic throughout, which was tasty to pick out of the final product. It did not end up a blended soup because we threw a half-bag of lentils in there. Mmm, lentils. It was Friday dinner, Saturday and Sunday lunch. Mmm, goodness. Had to add some chopped up roast chicken to it for today’s lunch because I just could not stand the idea of it without meat. I guess my little inhabitant doesn’t like the idea of me eating a vegetarian meal.

Saturday morning we went to the barber so Jake could get all handsome-ified. It was PACKED when we got there, but that was because 5 of the 7 seats were taken up by kids, only one of them a boy and therefore only 1 of them getting a haircut. Thankfully the mum of one of the kids made them get up so I could sit down. Being obviously pregnant has its perks, I’d need to sit down even if I wasn’t (standing still is something I am terrible at, always have been, I can’t remember the last time I was in a long line and did not end up having to walk away to sit down, or just sit down right there, because otherwise I would have fainted. It’s just the way I am.) but now people recognise that. Yay! Once Jake finally got to Walt (it really bugs me when other customers wait for Walt, so the other barber Ed is just sitting around doing nothing, when what they want is something that Ed does. I’d understand shaves or flat top haircut, things Ed doesn’t do, but everything else and it is just annoying because… well… when we go Jake gets a shave so we get stuck behind these people) we were out of there pretty quickly, and then did a quick burst of grocery shopping for the next two weeks. And then it was HOME and BAM we were done with stuff for the weekend YAY!

I feel like I’m rambling a lot, sorry if that is the case.

Saturday afternoon and all of today was spent lazing on the couch next to each other (normally we sit in our own corners, but I felt like being close so I sat in the middle. This made it amusing when I had an itch and rolled to the left slightly, because I’d hit Jake with a baby belly but not even realise until he went "awww!" coz there was a baby on him.) watching the random stuff on our DVR. It was generally 1 show of amusement, 1 of interesting information about something interesting. Such as… we watched a show called ‘brain games’ about illusions. It only happened twice or 3 times (I forget) but it amused me when I wouldn’t be fooled by the thing. Was a very cool show though, quite often it would show the thing and then go to an ad break so we could discuss what we thought was going on and then could be YAY I WAS RIGHT and have proof.

I slept until almost 10 this morning, and by 11:30, I was ready for a nap. I’m so excited to go to sleep soon. It’s 9:30 almost, not long until it is at least "brush teeth and go relax in bed reading or doing a puzzle or something" time and then sleep and that makes for a very happy and sleepy Sez.

Oh, and the gingerbread I made on Friday? Almost all gone. It’s a good thing I was going to make more this Friday, because I’d have to anyway so it’s nice that I’m prepared to. Gingerbread rules, and we eat a LOT of it this time of year. I feel like this year’s batch is even better than normal because we are using funky, super flavourful ground ginger, and so the final product is all spicy-in-a-good-way and it just makes me so happy.

Title: It was said on a show we watched today, about travelling through the solar system. Something about what is after Pluto.

Log in to write a note

I def read “gravitational testicals” and thought of old hairy balls. Thanks a lot. Also… we have our couch corners too 🙂

December 19, 2011

I always feel sick after making shortbread. It is the standing up mixing double quantities of dough and then rolling it out and the smell of the buttery goodness. It goes on too long. Don’t know if I could refrigerate the dough. I find it works better when it gets soft. How hot do you want the Nando’s sauce I am getting for you?

December 19, 2011

I like this entry 🙂 I can feel the happiness seeping out of it!