Mostly Ashley-bragging, with videos.

Car update: Apparently the bank will be sending me (and Nick) paperwork about the bill payment. Why I had to call to find this out is silly, shouldn’t the guy have told me when I was getting the car? Anyway. Who knows if I will get the info (street and mailing address are different…), but at least Nick will so that’s all good.

Nick sold my car for me. It went for $400, but that’s better than nothing, and it is good to just get rid of it. It is weird having two cars in the parking lot. He got the money for it Saturday (he gave us an hours notice that the girl wanted to come see the car, but we were out, so he took care of it because he rocks and just happened to have a spare key to the car!), brought the money to us yesterday, and tomorrow morning he is coming over with the title for me to sign it all over. We gave him some booze as a thank you yesterday, but it doesn’t seem like enough. He has done SO MUCH. It is awesome having such fantastic family.

Ashley, she’s amazing, of course. Her speech is improving, and that is great but it kind of makes me sad. She doesn’t say "soor" and "sive" for 4 and 5 anymore. And today instead of "mouche" she said mouth. She still has some cute words, like cayrons. And somehow ‘dishes’, ‘delicious’ and ‘there she is!’ all sound the same. ("de-shis!"). She uses the word "kids" instead of calling everyone under the age of 12 a baby. Outside and inside are just "side". Yellow and window are very very similar, even to my always-around-her mum ear. Chicken is "kicken". I wish I could spell the way she says chocolate (I think it is "cochakit"). The other day I had a jam donut, and I think that was her first exposure to a donut. She called it a burger.

She has a packet of photos of family, so she’ll go get Uncle or Nanna or Mummy or Kitty out of the pile of photos and carry it around for a while. She’s been eating food awesomely lately (I’m so impressed that she finally eats meat, even if it is only thin slices of baked chicken, it is something), eating ENORMOUS servings of her meals and still wanting snacks afterwards.

She loves the new car, by the way. She loves listening to music in the car. Jake tells me it has a good sound system and I guess she agrees, sometimes she asks to just go sit in the car and listen to music.

This Saturday, my Mum is coming to visit! Jake and I are going to drive to JFK airport to pick her up. Should be fun. Plus I’ll get to see how comfy my car is after hours and hours of driving. It is ridiculously snuggly for short trips (because that’s all I’ve done so far).

Today, Ash and I went for a walk, just up the street, crossing at the lights, and back. On the other side of the street is ‘the yellow house’, and in front were two small puddles. So Ashley got introduced to the awesomeness of splashing in puddles. She’d stomp in one, walk over to the other, stomp a bit, and go back to the first. Over and over and over. Her shoes are still soaked 12 hours later. She had the best time. It was so fun.

Ok, I have more fun things than words to share.

The day she got her trike.

Crazy stamping baby, always asking for me to put her shoes on so she can run and stomp.

Puddles!


I love her face!

Log in to write a note

“I think that was her first exposure to a donut. She called it a burger.” That just made my day. God she’s so freakin’ rad.

September 17, 2013

I can’t wait for Saturday!!!

So cute! I still can’t get over how much like Jake she is. She’s growing up WAAAAY too fast! 🙂

September 18, 2013

Very cute! RYN: Thank you for the computer help!