Oxygen.

I am so sick of coughing. I’ve had this stupid cough since last Tuesday. My abs ache from all the coughing. It is worse when I lay down so when I have to put Ash to bed at night (or nap) I am almost guaranteed to have a coughing fit. At least it is a way to tell if she is asleep yet, she doesn’t stir when I cough, even if it is ridiculously loud and for ages. She is used to me.

Doesn’t help that we keep going outside where it is cold. Last week, Thursday I think, we went outside because we hadn’t been out in days and it was going to get terribly cold so we went out to play in the snow. Actually I think it was something stupid like 20F, so it was dumb, but it was brief, Ash had fun, and I didn’t die too much. Better than going out on the weekend when it was negative fahrenheit. Yeah. What the fuck.

Speaking of fucking cold weather, Saturday night was going to be -9F so I put a big fluffy blanket on the bed as the sheet, so we could stay nice and warm because even with the heat on overnight we would get a bit cold. It was a good thing I did that because when we woke up it was really really ridiculously (good looking… heh, we watched Zoolander the other day…) cold inside. Our heater wasn’t working. Our temperature gauge said inside was 51F but I swear it was colder than that. Getting out of bed just to walk to the bathroom and back, it felt like I had gone out in the snow. Not fun! Jake went downstairs to tell Laurie (landlord’s daughter, she is super helpful and awesome) and she called the right people to get it fixed. We had breakfast downstairs so we could warm up – banana pancakes, yum! and when we got back it was still cold but more tolerable. Even better once I started cooking things in the oven. But the furnace wasn’t working until 2pm (we woke at 7am) and it didn’t get up to 68F/20C until bedtime. The pipe from the oil tank outside to the furnace had frozen. Apparently so bad that the guy who came to fix it hadn’t seen it like that before. We also got half a tank of oil, which I don’t know if we are paying for it or if Russ or Laurie is. Last time we had an issue they paid for the top up of oil so that would be nice, oil is expensive!!

Date day on Saturday. Excited. Hopefully I don’t cough-fit through Anchorman 2.

Log in to write a note
January 12, 2014

Ooh, free oil. Fingers crossed that it is.