**Strawberry Salsa**

Taken from a ‘Summer Appetizers’ edition of Taste of Home magazine.

Makes about 4 cups

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cups sliced fresh strawberries
  • 1 1/2 cups chopped sweet red pepper (capsicum)
  • 1 cup chopped green pepper (capsicum) (we used yellow because we don’t like green but still wanted a colour variety)
  • 1 cup seeded and chopped tomato
  • 1/4 cup chopped Anaheim pepper (I will be using jalepenos from now on. I don’t really like the taste of the anaheims)
  • 2 tablespoons minced fresh cilantro
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes
  • 1/4 teaspoon pepper
  • 2 tablespoons plus 2 teaspoons honey
  • 2 tablespoons lemon juice

In a large bowl, combine everything but the honey and lemon. In a small bowl, combine the honey and lemon juice, gently stir into the strawberry mixture. Cover and refridgerate for at least 4 hours. Stir just before serving. Serve with a slotted spoon.

**I ate this immediately after making it. The sitting for 4 hours made no difference to the overall flavour, it just made the ‘salsa’ sit in more juice. After a day it was enough liquid to completely cover the leftover salsa. That was my favourite part though, just dipping plain salty tortilla chips in the spicy strawberry liquid. Yum**


Log in to write a note
August 9, 2010

mmm, looks yummy.And interesting, hehe…. I would never have thought of mixing strawberries and peppers… To bad my live-in bf wont touch strawberries :o( …I’ll have to try and make this for myself someday and just save it because I love trying strange new combinations…. :o)

August 10, 2010

Again like I have said before… SUCH A THING EXISTS!? *takes notes*