**Hummingbird Slice With Orange Icing**

Taken from the March 2010 Recipes + magazine.

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup self-raising flour (I cannot find SR flour anymore so I used 1 cup all purpose (plain) flour and a teaspoon of baking soda)
  • 1/3 cup all purpose (plain) flour
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 3/4 cup firmly packed brown sugar
  • 1/3 cup desiccated coconut (I cannot find this, so I used sweetened dried coconut, very sticky stuff…)
  • 450g (~16oz) can crushed pineapple in syrup, drained (because the coconut I used was much sweeter, I used pineapple in juice NOT syrup. I probably would have done this anyway…)
  • 2 large overripe bananas, mashed
  • 2 eggs, at room temperature
  • 2/3 cup sunflower oil (nuts to that, I used vegetable oil. Could possibly use olive oil but I think that has too much of it’s own flavour/scent)
  • 1 teaspoon grated orange zest

Preheat oven to 180C/350F. Grease and line a 26X16cm (10X7") pan with baking paper, extending paper at long sides for handles (this is a good thing, do it!)

Sift flours and cinnamon into a large bowl. Stir in sugar and coconut, then drained pineapple, banana/eggs/oil and zest until combined (okay, the wording of this is weird because I copied it directly from the magazine. I needed to do lots of steps to get to this ‘first’ step)

Spread mixture in prepared pan. Bake for 40-45 minutes or until a skewer inserted in the centre comes out clean. Cool for 15 minutes in the pan, then turn slice out onto a wire rack to cool completely.

ORANGE ICING

  • 1 1/2 cups icing sugar
  • 20g butter (1.5 tablespoons) at room temperature
  • 2 tablespoons freshly squeezed orange juice

Sift icing sugar into a medium bowl. Add butter, beat until smooth, adding enough juice for a spreadable consistency. (This part is too weird for me. The way I did it…

Beat the butter in the bowl, with about a tablespoon of orange juice, until combined. Sift the icing sugar in, 1/4 to 1/2 a cup at a time, and mix until smooth. If needed, add more of the orange juice.)

I chilled the slice in the fridge overnight before adding the icing, and then sliced it into squares BEFORE icing (but I left them all next to each other even though they were seperate)

 This is what happens if you slice them and try to ice them seperately.

**This slice is MASSIVELY moist. It seems to suck moisture right out of the air. I kept it in the fridge, and prefered to eat it straight from the fridge. It really needs to be cold to be really good, it allows all the fruit inside to seem fresh and crisp and juicy. Also, this is okay without the icing, but it is amazing with it. Don’t be discouraged if you test it before you ice it and don’t like it, like I didn’t.

This also freezes well, for up to 2 months apparently. Freeze it without the icing.**

Log in to write a note
August 9, 2010

I wish Duckie didn’t hate all things banana so I could try this recipe.