Hurricane TERRIFIED ShaiAnn *EDIT*

 

Oh My God!

I think last night changed ShaiAnn for life.

Around 5am this morning I woke up to the sounds of a crying child…I stirred a bit wondering what the noise was and then once I fully realized what the noise was it froze me to the bone.

I got up out of bed as fast as I could and rushed into ShaiAnn’s room.

We were hit by Hurricane Noel last night and the building was moving and shifting and groaning and making the worst noises I have ever heard comming out of a building.

I burst into ShaiAnns bedroom to see my little girl standing at the foot of her bed.  She had her "blankie" and one of her baby dolls both pressed firmly to her face, SCREAMING into them.

As soon as she saw me she came over to me, threw her arms around me and held on for dear life.  She was shaking like a leaf and had a wild kinda look in her eyes.  The poor child was scared beyond scared.

We sat on her bedroom floor and I held her and told her it was going to be okay and rocked back and forth and back and forth…

I have never felt so usless and helpless at the same time.  I was there for her now…but she has just spent UNKNOWN amount of time in her bedroom, TERRIFIED, Screaming into a doll.  The power was out all around here due to god knows what so the baby monitor was not on of course.

I felt so bad for her!  I mean I was freaked out by all the noises the building was making…and this stuff isnt new to me..What was it like for a tiny little child who has never heard those sounds before and who was NOT used to the pitch black that was last night.

Needless to say this morning I am left with a wicked headache from a lack of sleep.  ShaiAnn seems perfectly fine tho.  Her normal bouncy self in the morn.  I fear she will be forever scared from that night tho…from being alone and scared.  I feel so bad for her!

lol Yeah….shes fine, sitting beside me at her table, eating yogurt and singing songs, complaining about a book she can’t find…lol.  Yup normal ShaiAnn.

Thanks a lot Hurricane Noel!

*Edit*

So later on in the day ShaiAnn and I were in her room playing and she was looking at pictures in a book.  She starts saying "MaMa MaMa, I Scared"…

My heart melted!  I felt so bad…I just wanted to hug her and hold her all over again. 

She said it again later in the evening.  I don’t know if its because she remembers being in her room scared or is she "pretending" or "re-enacting" her Nanny asking her if she was scared….I dunno.

But still…"MaMa MaMa, I Scared…"

 

 

 

 

 

 

Log in to write a note