Fair trade

There is a girl on here who’s diary I had been reading for a couple of years. She was a beautiful, and inspirational spirit. She was diagnosed with brain cancer, yet continued to live her life as full as possible up until the very end. Up until she physically couldn’t anymore. She passed away, I just read the entry, and froze for a few minutes. She was only 26.

Amazing how connected we can feel to each other, with just these words we write. How I would hope, with every entry, she would write how she had beaten the odds and is cancer free. That never happened, but I know she fought hard.

Many things I gripe about seem so silly in comparison. She was truly amazing and I know that I will carry her story with me as long as I live. That is how powerful these diaries can be, and why I hope OD can live on. We fight battles here on these pages, it’s how we spread hope and find strength.

Strange, but I will miss her. Today, I will be grateful. Under this blanket my mother knitted for us, my dog asleep in the bedroom with my snoring boyfriend. My fancy coffee machine, and being awake to see the sun come up. I normally hate mornings, but not this one.

Log in to write a note
January 18, 2014

Sorry to hear about your friend. 🙁 Found you from the front page.

in case you haven’t read the main page lately, OD is now officially a dead man walking. i hope you end up on Prosebox; I’m under the same name if you want to come find me. If not, well, I’ll miss you.