Moments

We need to start having more of them. I bought tickets to see Toad the Wet Sprocket in November, at a place we keep trying to get back to, but it hasn’t been the right time or the right band. Now, we aren’t being picky. We just know it’s time for some live music blaring in our ears. To get those chills at the start of the song you’ve been waiting to hear. The first few chords, the smile you can’t hold back, the relief that they really are going to play it. This time it won’t be freezing cold, and I’ll wear shoes that actually fit my big feet.

We started talking about baby names, even though I’m not pregnant yet. Chris is pretty sure we should wait until we "meet" him or her. I think that makes sense, but we should have some ready to go so we aren’t with a nameless baby for too long. It isn’t important to me that we aren’t married. I am not religious. I have seen couples married, couples not married, those who are divorced, and those who should be divorced. Marriage is not the fantasy world it is meant to be. It doesn’t create more love, more stability, more commitment. It gives tax breaks, and benefits that unmarried couples don’t have. That is the only fact.

So we’ll get to it, when he’s ready to ask the question. But pregnancy will soon be "high risk" for me. It will soon be treated as a medical condition. I know Chris will be a great dad. I know in my gut we can do this together, and this is what we both want. That moment that changes your life, your entire existence.

That is what I have been waiting for.

And I can finally say I am ready for it.

Log in to write a note

You must be going to see them at The 9:30 Club. My wife and I have been talking about baby names too. We are adopting a yet to be born boy in one month.

Good luck ! ( just hit the random button )

October 20, 2013

9:30 Club is an interesting venue. Tripped me out after the DC smoking ban, having to go outside to have a cigarette. But it did give me an opportunity to meet one of the bandmembers since I went out while the opening act was playing. As for babby, can’t say I’m not slightly jealous. But she’s going to be back in school, and I can’t do the things a dad needs to be able to do. Hell, Ican barely take care of myself. Also, I could very well not be able to make one…..