Waiting for the rain to fall..

My old laptop stopped working on me a couple of weeks ago. It just didn’t turn on. I freaked out a bit until Chris took parts from it and magically transplanted them into his computer. Now I have access to all my files, from my laptop, on his computer. It’s very bizarre, and I am very old and clueless when it comes to technology. Gone are the days of mastering AIM. I actually understand my mothers frustrations when it comes to Windows 8. 

Things like that make me grateful to have him. He does everything he can to help me in ways he knows how to. He just doesn’t know how to do any of the little things, and I am constantly reminding myself that it’s OK, don’t be so spoiled, he’s a great guy. He just doesn’t know how to make coffee, and doesn’t care. I’m a breakfast person, I love it. He doesn’t. But he wakes up at 5 am, and fails every single morning to make me coffee. It would just be the sweetest thing, and I couldn’t have hinted any harder.

Last week, on the anniversary date of our meeting, he sat for hours in the morning playing video games. So I googled how to make and omelet, put on some coffee and potatoes, and made us breakfast. He said, "Oh, I didn’t even think of that". He says he doesn’t know how to make coffee, we can just go out somewhere if I want to. Sigh! He misses the point. I just have the least romantic boyfriend that I think ever existed. he completely misses the concept all together.

But, he tries to impress me in his own way. Taking an extra class at school this semester, giving me his tire air checker thing, pretty much giving me everything he can. But the day I wake up to the smell of coffee brewing, I may think the world is ending.

Speaking of which, I have a lot of dreams. Between the cats, the dog, the boyfriend waking up at 5am, I wake up a lot during the night, and each time I remembered my dreams. Everything from bombs and airports exploding, to giving Jennifer Aniston a massage. I have always had the power to change my dreams if they get too disturbing. One night I made myself hide under some stairs until I woke up. I wonder if anyone actually has the power to wake themselves up? I know I’ve tried desperately. I have woken up laughing a couple of times, that’s always a trip.

Waiting for the rain. Tonight is our concert. Chris is back in bed. I just finished my coffee but I think I will join him…..

 

Log in to write a note

rain in November is never fun for anyone. are you still a master of AIM? we should chat sometime.

ryn: yeah, AIM is still around. i’m on that and GChat pretty much every day while i’m at work if you ever want to yack at me. get a copy of Trillian and you can handle both of those AND Facebook chat in one program…

November 7, 2013

My husband lacks the romance gene too. But he does other sweet things that make up for it. And he loves me and our dog. So it’s a trade off I guess but u certainly wouldn’t mind a little romance now and again.