DID> and information about it.

So if you don’t know I have Did. And I have been asked questions about it before. I feel this might be an informative thing to write about.

Hopefully it clears whatever up if you still have questions. Ask.

Oh and a real entry back one;)

………DID……….A illness I live with.

Post tramatic stress dissorder is closely related to dissociative disorders. In fact 80% of those with a dissociative disorder are also diagnosed with a post tramtic disorder.Dissociation is a mental conection,which produces a lack of connection to a persons thoughts,memoryresulting in temporary escape.It usually results in a memory gap because of it.During the period of time when they are dissociating ,certain information may appear real that is not. They dont remember things back like they should.Or they might not remember things at all.People who frequently disociate don’t have memories like other people.

I am now going to paste some things I found because they are most helpful in explaining what I have. The symptoms and everything.

Dissociative identity disorder is a diagnosis described in the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 4th Edition (DSM), Revised, as the existence in an individual of two or more distinct identities or ego-states, each with its own pattern of perceiving and interacting with the environment. To qualify as dissociative identity disorder (multiple personality disorder), at least two personalities must routinely take alternate control of the individual’s behavior, and there must be a loss of memory that goes beyond normal forgetfulness. This memory loss is often referred to as "losing time". These symptoms must occur independently of substance abuse or a general medical condition.

Dissociative identity disorder is also known as multiple personality disorder, as detailed in the International Statistical Classification of Diseases and Related Health Problems. In North America the name was changed to dissociative identity disorder due to the degree of controversy in the psychiatric and psychological communities there regarding the concept of one (physical) individual having more than one personality, where personality may be defined as the sum total of that (physical) individual’s mental states.

While dissociation is a demonstrable psychiatric condition that is tied to several different disorders, specifically those involving early childhood trauma and anxiety, multiple personality remains controversial. Despite the controversy, many mental health institutes such as McLean Hospital, have wards specifically designated for dissociative identity disorder.

I hope that helps.

The symptoms of DID are:

  • depression
  • anxiety (sweating, rapid pulse, palpitations)
  • phobias
  • panic attacks
  • physical symptoms (severe headaches or other bodily pain)
  • fluctuating levels of function, from highly effective to disabled
  • time distortions, time lapse, and amnesia
  • sexual dysfunction
  • eating disorders
  • sleeping disorders (insomnia, sleepwalking, night terrors)
  • posttraumatic stress
  • suicidal preoccupations and attempts
  • episodes of self-mutilation
  • psychoactive substance abuse[4]
  • Other symptoms include: Depersonalization, which refers to feeling unreal, removed from one’s self, and detached from one’s physical and mental processes. The patient feels like an observer of his life and may actually see himself as if he were watching a movie. Derealization refers to experiencing familiar persons and surroundings as if they were unfamiliar and strange or unreal.

Not everyone has all the symptoms. But I do have a large number of them.

Again I hope this is helpful and I hope it answers any questions you might have. I don’t talk about it. Mostly because I dont want my diary to be about my illness. ALot of people do not understand DID. I have come to my own sort of understanding about this.

But it is a huge part of me. And IF you accept me you accept all parts. Including this.;)

Well I hope this is helpful. I have another entry back one. TIamo mi amigos,Siarai

Log in to write a note

And in this entry, I have found myself….. EDUCATED! 😀 YAY! I don’t think I’ve learned anything in like a month. Not to mention I have learned a little more about you. Thanks for sharing.