Fairy Tale Generator. :)

IT is mucho fun..
Here is my fairy tale based on what I selected..
I could not stay like I promised, so I took father’s satchel hidden underneath his bed and followed the smell of him.  If I could not smell anger, I could at least smell my father, wandering the valley bloodthirsty and violent.  In the search for my father, I found someone else.  Another man, smelling for something angry, with only one eye and a tangling beard.  He was distinctly foreign.

"How did you get here?" the man asked.

I told a million answers to their biting questions to silence them.

One man stumbled towards me as if under a drunken afternoon spell.  His mouth hung open, saliva pouring down.  When he came beside me he spat into both my eyes and I screamed, falling to the grass beneath my feet.  I saw black and smelled drool and could not open my eyes.

"What weighs you down will make you drown," he said with a loud crescent shaped grin.  I believed him.  I may have been a fool but with my head thrown asunder by the crashing tides of water I took off my shoes and bag and threw them across the stream on the other bank.

Under my feet I felt the rhythm of aches and sighs breathe with each step I took.  I felt like I was walking on quicksand.  And indeed, when I tried to move my feet I could not feel my toes but only the inability to move them on the surface of palpable danger.  When I turned to ask for his help he only laughed.  Then I began to think it was he who was making my feet turn to stone.

From the mountainside I watched a giant crane fly down beside me and place two of its feathers onto my feet for flight.

"Let me go then," I said. 

I fled, I fled so fast that my feet did not feel the ground.  Instead they chafed the cold breeze as my heels vibrated like wings of locusts and dragonflies. 

Holding my father’s blade I cut what kept me from moving.  I did not care to look whether it was a serpent’s tongue or the branch of a tree.

"Take that needle and pin it to the inside of your shirt.  From then no one will be able to touch you without feeling the hurt of needles on the bare sides of their palms"

The woman in dragon scales glided up the mountain and vanished in the mists.  The needle bade me to follow her snow white hairs that glistened like silver strands of dew.

Then, as I was about to reach the top of the mountain, a giant form appeared before me in the shape of soil.  As I came closer to it I realized that it was not a giant form but composed of hundreds of small people from the earth.  The mountain had come alive, and it did not want me to pass its presence.

But since I had been given my gift I did not fear what stood in front of me.  As his body touched mine if fell to the floor covered in a carpet of needles.

So I began my journey home.

The sound of pattering steps quickly nipped at my heels as I ran.  Looking behind me, I saw that the wolf-girl had grown larger.  She carried on her back her sister, a lady wearing dragon scales whose white hair trailed in the wind.

I called out,"Help, please, help!"  The white crane grazed the skin of my pursuer and held my shirt between its beak. 

When I returned home Mother was not there.  Instead, there was a man leaning against our door, sipping guava juice through a straw.  He told me the lady of the house had left to search for her son, and that he had taken residence.  I looked down on him and winced.  His feet stank of manure.

"This man," he pointed at me, "this man killed our father.  See the blood on his shirt Mother?  See it?  The smell is like one of our own."

"As a child, my son could dance along the soil so quickly that the men who died and live in the ground could not catch him.  Prove this to me now,"

Without hesitance I lifted my pant legs began to dance in father’s leather bottomed shoes.  The soles breezed across the floor, cutting the mist with rhythmic motions.  I then turned the ring on my finger and watched my father rise, soil shedding from his skin.  His shaved face and clean hands stood against the paling crowd. This impressed the people who stood before me, as did the fact that my tongue did not bleed from the needle it held.

As Mother smoothed her hand over Father’s forehead she looked at me reassuringly.

Everyone then stared through the guise of the false man beside me.  The person, who acted as a substitute for my accomplishments, began to bite his nails in a rampant manner.

A familiar gold and silken robe of dragon scales was placed in my hands on account of me killing the creature.  For an odd reason I could not help but feel regret.  The girl with the white hair and her foxlike sibling did not mean any real harm but only wanted to protect the mountain as the men of soil bade them do.

The earth rumbled and the trees shook, and before the old hag could spit another curse at me, the ground beneath her split in two, swallowing her rickety bones and hollow heart.

I was offered a place in the palace, but I could not accept.  I wanted to be with the mountain; I felt it move under my skin as I knew part of me was in the mountain too.

HEre is the link:http://www.brown.edu/Courses/FR0133/Fairytale_Generator/gen.html
Go nuts. 🙂

Log in to write a note
May 6, 2007

interesting site – will have to try it out.