just another empty lie

The numbness I can not shake.
It crawls over me like poison.
Should I cover my wounds and continue on?
But after all this time, I think I’m better off this way.
So turn off the light my lover, come here and lay me down.
So turn off my light, my darlin..Only this darkness needs to envelope me.

I promise through all this time, It will never get better.I promise you see.
I will not lie. Because I know.
This is more then whiskey and roses,
This is more then the reed and the stream.
This is more then me and you.
It is more then anything.

So I woke up this morning.With your voice in my head.
And it has been years since I gave you more then a fleeting thought.
And there you are clear as day.
But why might you be saying
*This is more then another empty lie,More then another promise, more then a smile, or a touch.*
Do you mean it really?
Because sometimes all I ever wanted from you..was to be your friend.

Is that too much to ask?
too many stories..told in parable speak.
too many stories..Told in weeping beat..
Too many dark lies.woven in melody.
too many empty promises..but i never told a lie.

Log in to write a note

/hugs and stuff. Chris

damn that’s so georgeous & delovely. haunting even. those cold cold lies. i hope you can find someone to remove the scars and mend those broken lies. just a random guy. hello.