Help

I was in the shower, minding my own business when I heard my cousin and her boyfriend talking in the next room. I slowly turned the shower knob to better hear what they were talking about. And as I feared, they were talking about me again. Ever since the pandemic quarantine started, I have been staying with them, trying my best to win their interest in letting me stay longer. You see, I had everything but in one glance, it all disappeared. I was left jobless, with nowhere to go. Luckily, my cousin who happened to be my best friend as well took me in. We are staying at her boyfriend’s house and honestly I love the guy.

But I know in some ways I disappoint them. My lack of knowledge in the household chores, unavailability of any kind of job during the pandemic, and lack of income is what always bother me staying here. I tried, believe me, I did. I tried to wash the dishes and mop the floor, did my own laundry, and even changed the bed sheets, but I am well aware that they think I suck at it. I’ve seen them re-do the things I did when they didn’t think I’m looking.

So here’s the thing, last night I took a crash course on YouTube about a software. My cousin’s boyfriend had just recommended me to his dad, and the thing is, I really can’t say no. I know that he’s hoping that I could give back to the two months of help he gave me through accepting the project. So I had no choice but to do it. What frustrates me is that I haven’t been sleeping in two days trying to figure out how the hell I could make it work. I feel like I am close to a breakdown instead of a breakthrough.

Anyway, as I was saying, I my cousin and her boyfriend talking about me. Apparently, they are no longer accommodating my needs and I can’t blame them. I have never wanted to be freeloader anyway. But I don’t know what to do.

Log in to write a note
May 18, 2020

Have an honest discussion with them. It’s tough having a guest for a long time. Tell the husband about your fears regarding the job…maybe he can help. Tell them how much you appreciate the help. It may be you aren’t doing these things wrong. You’re just not doing them their way. It’s a tough situation and the pandemic is causing a lot of stress for everyone.

kat
May 18, 2020

so sorry but I guess you knew this day would come but not in the middle of this cover… that is bad

May 18, 2020

O shit. What will you do???? 🙁 🙁 🙁 I’m Sam btw.

May 20, 2020

Why not bring it up to them? You could do it in a way that doesn’t make it obvious that you overheard them. If you’re not doing the chores the way they would like it done, ask them to show you how they do it. If they don’t indulge you in that, there’s not much you can do about it, but it’s worth a shot.