Essay for grad-school…

Here is an essay i wrote for my grad-school application.

i’m gonna be gone for one more week, then i’ll do some major updating.  hope all is well with everyone.

– noah

On the eve of a world where technology is not only helpful, but a necessity; where individuality is almost looked down upon and free thought is of the past, I would not want to change anything.  For to change one thing would be pretentious and only further our belief that we can “change” the world.  It’s not the big things, it’s the little things.  The everyday things in how we live our lives, the choices we have and how we follow through on the decisions we make.  To only change only one aspect of the world amongst a myriad of consequences seems hardly worth the chance.  There is an alternative.

 

I would ask that one thing remain the same amidst the ever changing future.  Music.  I would plead that music stay the same.  The diversity of music is astonishing.  It seems as if any type of music that can be thought up can, in this day and age, be presented for listening and even find a niche, sometimes even a cult following.  Not only does most music find some kind of place in the everyday life of someone, but everyone has an extremely wide variety of music to choose from.  Gone are the days of the few dictating what many should listen to.

 

However even I have a complaint with this system.  I am one of the many that enjoy several types of music, but even I am unable to truly appreciate things I know I should simply because there is something else I’d rather listen to.  For instance, I am not the biggest purveyor of Minimalist music.  I am very much intrigued by it and the sensations, feelings and emotions that it evokes.  However it is not something I would put on a playlist and listen to while reading or doing chores.  The question of course is this because of lack of exposure, or a simple distaste for that genre.  I know for a fact there are several genres I would like to know more about, but with the wealth of music presented I have a difficult time focusing on exploration.  I find it far too enjoyable to listen to those I already know and take pleasure in.

 

However, beyond the simple truth of having too much music to listen to, I still believe that the present course of music is much preferable to that of another.  Having the wide variety that we have helps breed the broad span of thinking we possess; the processes of making ourselves distinct from one another.  One of the few things that still creates in us individuality and depth of personality.  Without it we are culturally stunted and give way to far worse evils in the world: tyranny, oppression… tone deafness. 

 

Music seems to take a part in the shaping of one’s life, whether it is from the elation of listening to the exhilaration of performing.  Not to mention having many styles to choose from only makes the living of that life more enjoyable.  But then again, I could be wrong.

 

 

Log in to write a note
November 27, 2005

This was great! I wish I had the talent to write. I can never write for anything.

November 30, 2005

i am flabbergasted. just when i thought you topped yourself you do it again.lol

All is well i don’t od much. But divorced and happy. ttyl