I cheated on him

I know I am the worst person ever. And he did not deserve it because he has been nothing but loyal and caring to me.

I feel like i have to live with this guilt now forever. It’s not that i cheated on once.

I am in a long distance relationship with my boyfriend for over 2 years now. In this time we met twice and we build a strong bond with each other. I believed that he is the one for me until i moved to a different country. Totally opposite side of the world. I begged him to come with me but he had different plans for his career and I wanted to support him no matter what. I truly loved him.

Moreover, we continued our relationship even after changing my country by long distance. In my new apartment, I met a guy who had a crush on me. He did put so much efforts to impress me, finally after 3 months of his surprises, care and loyalty to me he won my attention. My long distance boyfriend never had time for me much because he was busy with his exams which he was preparing for from last 2 years since afterwards we met. Hence, I never get to spend much time with him and my emotions about he not coming with me and more was suppressed. I was having hard time bearing my thought with me. My flat mate made me feel special and loved. He expressed his emotion in many new ways that i never knew existed. And then I cheated on my boyfriend. I feel ashamed because my boyfriend did not deserve this. He is very pretty looking and he tried to put efforts. Even though he had less time for me but he made sure we talked everyday even if it was a single minute for.

Honestly, I loved my boyfriend. I know noone would believe that. I am guilty and I don’t know what should I do next. His exams in 15 days more.

I don’t wanna make his upset in between his test so I didn’t tell him anything else but lied. I feel broken knowing what i did. And now nothing I can do to fix my relationship. I really felt magical with my boyfriend and I wanted to marry him. I know I can’t feel same way with anyone else.

I made this mistake and I am bearing the pain with me. I feel like I should confront it after his exam knowing he will leave me.

I really gave my best every day until that day when I sold myself to someone else for my selfish pleasure and emotional support.

I can never forgive myself unless he does and I know he won’t once he knows.

Don’t make this mistake ever if you are in love.

 

Log in to write a note
January 27, 2024

My gf did this to me after 9 years together. Now she’s with the man she cheated on me with. This all happened a little over a month ago. I am completely devastated. It’s the worst thing you can do to someone in a relationship. I can’t ever forgive her.

January 27, 2024

Having gone through what you’re currently going through, I can say with some degree of certainty that you’ll get through this. Guilt is a heavy burden to carry. I know. The fact that you feel such remorse is an indication that you’re a person of high moral character — not a terrible person. Given that, it’s normal to punish ourselves for lapses in judgment for a time. What helped me wasn’t sharing my mistake with my partner, but realizing we’re all human. The love we feel isn’t limited to one person. With maturity comes the ability to set appropriate boundaries, a skill that’s always a work in progress.

January 27, 2024

You don’t really have a boyfriend if you’ve met twice in two years. I can totally understand how having someone nearby and attentive to your needs would draw you to him, both emotionally and physically. I think you should consider taking a break from your “boyfriend” and seeing where things go with this man.