Te Demum Repperi

Translation: Finally I have found you.

At least that is what I was told. This was placed on a compass charm that was given to me by Sunshine. The compass is in real working condition, but in miniature form.  So cute. So appropriate too since she also gave me a compass charm for graduation in May that was symbolic and flat and engraved on the back it read “there are no shortcuts to any place worth going.”

I’m so overwhelmingly, all encompassing, life changing in love. There is not a moment that I question my future with this woman who has become such a compass in my life! She guides me through every day, leads me closer and closer to ultimate happiness, and attracts me to all the golden light this world can emit. She is my light. She is my life.

We’ve lived together since July now and not one day goes by that I regret the decision to move someone in.  I had vowed after college I would not ever live with a roommate again unless there was a ring on my finger. Turns out, the ring she placed around my heart was sufficient enough for me to alter my views on it.   Besides that…a ring is on it’s way, but it’s the one I plan to put on her finger.

We’ve set a tentative wedding date, but all the details still have to be sorted out. There’s a lot of time to do so, but we have to be able to talk about it every day until we agree on what to disagree on. We don’t have the same wedding ideas as one another, but that does not deter either of us from wanting to be blessed by a union of souls that is official both legally and in some faithful manner.

We’ve begun to consider joining the Episcopal church which now Nationally recognizes same sex unions calling them a partnership. This word “Partnership” bothers her, but it does not bother me. If the church is blessing our union…I don’t give a rats ass what they would like to call it, as long as they recognize its importance and the love between us.

So, 9.13.14 is the tentative date which is not only a cool number for both of us, easy to remember, but also the anniversary of her parents, whom I just recently met last month on a trip to their home in Florida.  They are much older than my parents and certainly aren’t going to live long enough to make it to our 25th anniversary (though it is possible), and so honoring them by having our loving wedding on their date of union would be paying such proper ode to their long lasting marriage.  They are 76 and 82, and mom who is the younger of the two is unfortunately a victim of Alzheimer and it is pretty advanced. However, despite her condition and her Dads very opinionated convictions and support towards the republican party (lol), he was accepting of his baby girls happiness and love for me. This makes him the perfect father in my eyes. He will dance with her at our wedding and that’s what counts.

I can not wait for every new day of my life to begin because it holds something new between the two of us. She is my world and imagining a day without her in it is the most tragic thought I have as of late.

Work is hard, but I’m earning decent money and learning a whole lot. It’s a journey that I am on and after another year in a half I reach a crossroad in my career and decide which direction to move ahead towards.

In the meantime, my light, my guide, my compass who goes by Sunshine will help lead me in every step of the way.

Much Love Always to All My Readers,
The Soon-to-be-married Rose

 

Log in to write a note
February 5, 2013

i am bursting with happiness for you!:)

February 24, 2018

@32flavors_1 Gah! I’m now coming to the very end of my diary (since their initiating its return, I’ve read from “beginning” to end so that I know what I shared with everyone and so that I was reminded of my life and the roads that led to where I am now), and I just am hoping that someone gets the message to you that OD has returned! We never exchanged emails (or so I can’t recall, but I’m pretty sure we did not) and after reading all your notes and remembering your trials, tribulations and stories, yours is the story I am yearning to hear how it all panned out! I hope everything worked itself out after your marriage was seeing tough times. So, I’m leaving this note in hopes that it somehow reaches you if and when you reactivate your diary! You were my favorite life to read and I rooted for you so often.

August 3, 2013

Aww, that’s sweet <3