Feels Like the First Time

It is 2018 and I am writing on OD again for the first time.  In anger of the closing of OD, I downloaded my diary and deleted it. I never thought it would be back.  Silly move on my part since I had been a lifetime member.  C’est la Vie!  At the time, I was so angry at the DM.  How could he abandon his flock?  He gave us a safe space.  He gave us new friendships.  I needed OD and it was being ripped away from me after so many years of faithfulness.   I get it now, even though it hurt at the time.

I was fuming when I saw on Twitter OD was coming back. All that rage when I felt when I read we were loosing OD came back again.  I swore I would never trust the DM again. Here I am. Curiosity got to me.  It’s 12:11 AM and I’m writing and entry.  It’s like old times.  I missed my friend.  There are changes, but in time everything changes.

I tried prosebox.   I wanted to love it.  I tried to love it. I used it to read my Fellow OD refuges new adventures.  I didn’t write much.  Mostly lurked and read.   I didn’t even know till a couple days ago it was down.

I remember that first OD entry from so many years ago.  I was writing about insomnia and girl I was pining for.  I still have bouts of insomnia.  Older and wiser now, I no longer pine for that girl.  She was toxic.  I know this now.  I have a good woman in my life.  It took finding a good woman to realize how toxic so many of my past relationships had been.

I’m 40 now and not that angsty 20 something I was back then.  I’m married now, three years this past December.  We’ve been together six years.  We have a great marriage, four cats, and three dogs. I highly suggest marrying your best friend.

I am going to see if I write consistently enough to subscribe when my 30 days are up.  I hope I do.  I didn’t realize how much I missed this safe space.

Log in to write a note
February 22, 2018

Welcome back. I went ahead and subbed for a month. If I don’t write enough I won’t resub and all I’m out is under four bucks. I was angry when he cut us loose and also angry when I saw it was coming back but I also understand why he left when he did. All I can do is hope that it’s better this time. OD has been home since 1999 at least (I believe my first diary was created thanksgiving 1998 but I promptly forgot the login and didn’t come back for months) and as angry as I was I can’t hate the DM. I did not meet my husband on OD but if not for OD I wouldn’t have met him. Bruce created a home for us here and I am so happy to be back.

February 22, 2018

Welcome back. I had left OD for privacy reasons before it was closed. But I always missed it. I hope it can be recreated.

February 22, 2018

Welcome back! it’s good to have you here.

If you have any records of the old diary and Lifetime subscription, please contact Support through the link at the bottom of the page and they can apply your Lifetime subscription to this diary.