I’m Loosing My Mind Just a Little

I’ve been having some major depression/anxiety issues lately.  I was on 150mg of Effexor for the last 2/3 years.  My doctor decided to switch my meds out instead of upping them. She was fearful if she upped the dose of Effexor it would exasperate the current digestive issues I’m having. (That’s a whole other entry.)  So the doc puts me on 10mg of Citalopram.  Since my Effexor was capsules, the step down process has been “fun”.

Ive been very manic.  I couldn’t tell you how long it’s been since I was manic.  I don’t like it.  I can’t concentrate on much.  I’m not sleeping well at all.  I went through a 36 hour period without sleeping.  I’ve been a bit snappish too much to wife’s dismay and irritation.

I started the Citalopram yesterday.  This is good, only it takes a week or more to get fully in my system.  So all I can do is hang on and wait for things to calm down.

I have discovered if I find something creative to do I can concentrate on it and keep myself occupied.  It helps. Right now it has been Toller Coaster Tycoon of all things.  Remember that game? Graphics are weak compared to today’s game graphics, but it’s still awesome.  I like making coasters that make everyone puke when they get off of it.

I did do the taxes today. We’ve been married three years, but it’s our first time  filing together.  I was nervous about filing together, but we really needed to itemize.  Very glad we did. It was a good return and will help the credit card balance. Yay adulting?

 

Log in to write a note
February 24, 2018

I just had my meds changed about 2 weeks ago and I felt like shit. Still having some anxiety but that will hopefully improve soon. I hope you start feeling better soon. Hang in there.

February 24, 2018

I’ve never been on meds but I can only imagine. But I’m glad you found a niche to help quell yourself. Maybe try out SimCity 2000, oldie but goodie and requires a lot of concentration to keep it going. Might be a decent distraction.