Left with life’s scraps.

I’ve started my venture into blackout poetry. It’s a lot harder that it initially sounds.

My mother: "How is that poetry, just taking words?"
Me: "Poetry is words. I’m just choosing someone else’s words and putting them back together my way."
My mother: "….." *unimpressed*

ANYWAY. I’m proud of this first poem. It means little, but hey, it was fun and now I’m hooked.
I’ll start posting others as they come. I’d love to see some of yours if you have any.

"Subtraction". may 1 2011.

Log in to write a note
May 5, 2011

I’ve never heard of blackout poetry! That’s a pretty badass idea since you actually have to get *more* creative. In regular poetry… you have the entire English language providing you with a nearly limitless combination of words from which to choose. With blackout poetry, you have to find beauty within set confines. Very cool.

May 6, 2011

That is really awesome! I had never heard of it before either, but I am definitely going to try it out.

May 10, 2011

That’s a cool idea. I never heard of it before. Where’d you discover this? I think i’ll try it too.