UNSTOPPABLE!

Monday we woke up to rain rain rain.  Now understand here in the Pacific Northwest, it doesn’t rain like it does on the east coast.  It just is continuous more than downpours.  I have been driving through Ohio when a rain storm hit and we all had to pull over to the side of the road because we could not see from the rain.  No, here in Oregon it rains just "a bit all the time."  Monday was "a bit harder all the time" than usual.  I turned to Doug and said, "I have an idea!  Let’s go on a nice walk through the Columbia River Gorge waterfalls.  Take the dog and find an easy trail and just walk."  He agreed.  The man can still surprise me.

So, we looked at the different waterfall trails and Horsetail Falls is considered an "easy" hike.  I need easy as I am old and overweight and have bad joints and just don’t like hiking much.  Every source said it was "easy," so we decided to walk the Horsetail Falls Loop. The pup got all excited because I got out her harness and put on my sneakers.  Jackets and hats and towels and a packed lunch in hand, we hit the car and headed down the gorge.

I am not sure who decided the trail was "easy."  The last half mile I started to grouse a bit…but we did it!  Ate our lunch in the car (outside in the rain was just a bit too much rain); the pup lapping up her water.  The best of all worlds.  The dog was exhausted.  I was exhausted and sore.  Doug and I spent quality time in the hottub after giving the mudball pup a bath.  Her harness a bath.  Her leash a bath.  Her cape a bath. 

A little rain…a bit of waterfalls…more rain…lots of rocks on the trails…more rain…uphill both ways.  We thought we’d be the only ones out and about on such a day.  But the gorge was busy!  And that’s the thing about the Pacific Northwest…if we waited for the rain to quit before we did anything, we would never get anything done.  A little rain doesn’t hurt us!

WE ARE UNSTOPPABLE!
peace~~~

Log in to write a note
May 29, 2013

Awesome!

May 29, 2013

Sounds like a great workout!

May 29, 2013

“uphill both ways” I really hate those kinds of trails. Be well.

BBe
May 30, 2013

Loved this story. 🙂

May 30, 2013

RYN: I adore The Big Bang Theory! We’ve hiked that same trail when we lived in Beaverton, and kudos for you and your adventure, I’m sure the pup was in heaven!!!