04/13/2009 *now with pics of the crappy event

[]

 

 

lilypie breastfeeding ticker

 

 

having lightly edited dennis’s letter to the editor for him, i must say i am proud of his efforts to teach some nasty parents a lesson:

 

Good Friday was a beautiful day for an Easter egg hunt, so since our town does not have one, my wife and I thought we’d head to P******* with our sons to attend theirs. NEVER AGAIN!!! My son is 3 years old and was very excited at the chance to hunt for eggs….well, thanks to most of the parents, that excitement was destroyed. The hunt was over in mere seconds. When the organizers gave the 1,2,3 GO the children rushed in (as they should be expected to)….well, then so did 90% of the parents!!!! And I don’t mean the parents followed their kids–I mean there was a wave of parentsoverwhelming and scaring several kids to the point of tears!!!! I witnessed, with growing anger and disgust, parents scooping handfuls of plastic eggs into there child’s basket….and for what? So THEIR kid would WIN? Get the most? Be the best egg hunter? Because everyone knows that is what an Easter egg hunt is all about. I sent my son in on his own and was very proud that he was able to get 4 whole eggs in his basket before they were vacuumed up by these overgrown egg hunters. I was also very proud when he shared his 4 eggs with his two cousins who were unable to secure ANY eggs for themselvesbecause of all of the"helpful" parents. The funny thing isthat it didn’t matter how MANY egg the kids found, because they all received the same baggie of candy.
 
Needless to say, we will NEVER attend your town’s Easter egg hunt again. I want to send out a big CONGRATULATIONS to the parents out there whose children "WON" the Egg Huntfor Ages 2-3 (or, as one parent quipped, perhaps it was Ages 20-30)!!! I hope you are proud of yourselves for ruining what should have been a great afternoon Easter tradition.

i hope they publish it. i  have already planned to put together an egg hunt for a few of sawyer and beau’s friends next year.

goofy kid making a goofy smile!!! (as you know, he doesn’t normally look that way LOL):

look how sad he looks:

 

 

***

Log in to write a note
April 13, 2009

Wow, that’s horrible!

April 13, 2009

That is really Shitty. My aunt and uncle did that with their sons. It’s like really? Why take all of the fun out of it. Now with Emma i do the “hot/cold” game when it gets down to only a few eggs left, but I don’t run her around showing her where the loot is. That’s no fun. What jerks.

April 13, 2009
April 13, 2009

WOAH!!! they NEED to publish that

April 13, 2009

I don’t blame you guys for being upset…that’s just sad!

April 13, 2009

tsk tsk…some parents…WTF?!?!

April 13, 2009

That is horrible!

April 13, 2009

They should definitely publish it- that is horrible of those parents! What a bunch of weirdos! =( You should organize your own next year for sure!

April 13, 2009

Ryn: LOL no but thats a good idea! After Aaron and I finished putting them all out. I looked at him and said So, do you uh remember where they all are? He said Nope. So we figured if we didnt find them all today it just made for better surprises throughout the year. LOL

April 13, 2009

Re: What is an OSAP? I’ve been tough with him. He doesn’t listen. It’s even worse when my mother’s around. He ignores me all together. He ignores most of what I say even when it’s just the two of us. :

April 13, 2009

How rubbish that happened, good on you guys for complaining!!

April 13, 2009

Awww that’s horrible!!!

April 13, 2009

Aww look at Sawyer’s little sad face :o(

April 13, 2009

Re: Just the…?! INSANE!

April 13, 2009

That is awful. Go Sawyer for getting four!!!! And then sharing. Proof that you guys are doing an amazing job.

April 13, 2009

How mean of those parents. Ugh.

April 13, 2009

Aww, sad Sawyer should be on the egg hunt expose article!

Wow, I hope that gets published too! I’d be pissed! Kids activities… should stay fun for the kids!! I would have told them how it was right there! When LJ does something like that… even when we had our own… I look out for the other ones as well as my own, to make sure everyone is getting something! And that it is fun! Ugg… Parents these days…

April 13, 2009

that would make me mad too!

April 13, 2009

This is exactly why we left the Easter egg hunt on Saturday. It was AWFUL. It was the biggest incentive for me getting De his bunnies. As soon as he saw the bunnies the horrible time at the egg hunt was erased and good memories immediately replaced the bad ones from that morning.

April 13, 2009

I hope they do publish it, it is sad to know some parents act like that. Aww@sad face Sawyer but yay for him finding 4 eggs and sharing. He is a very sweet boy, you are raising him right 🙂

April 13, 2009

thats awful about the easter egg hunt and the dress! Hopefully next year will be much better.

April 13, 2009

🙁 We always do our egg hunts at home. People suck sometimes! Poor Sawyer and the sad face. 🙁

April 13, 2009

Some parents are unbelievable. What really gets me is when a parent will yell at someone else’s child for “doing something” to their child, like taking the egg their kid wanted. Talk about acting like a baby. The adults should be setting a good example for the children, and letting them learn to work things out.

April 13, 2009

i hope they print it! 🙁 poor sawyer. stupid jerk parents lol

April 13, 2009

That is so crappy. Sawyer’s sad face is heartbreaking 🙁

April 13, 2009

Ryn: it was a six hour drive for us…which is nothing, my parents are 14 hours away! 🙂 And crazy8 is owned by Gymboree, so they have similar stuff at more reasonable prices.

April 14, 2009

ryn: LOL, you’re right 150lbs isn’t fat – but at 5’2″ it put me square in the overweight category. 125lbs felt pretty good. At one point I was 115lbs and that felt too thin.

April 19, 2009

That’s ridiculous of those parents. Poor Sawyer! Man I hope this gets published!