appt *edit with school thoughts

pregnancy calendar

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

had my appt yesterday with a fill-in doc (my OB is on vacay.)

baby heartbeat: 166 but he wasn’t worried bc it’s consistent with results all pregnancy. when Beau had a galloping heartbeat, i was sent to the birth center but it wasn’t a consistent rate so made sense. turned out i was dehydrated, which is what the OB thought but she played safe rather than sorry. this time, no worries by comparison 🙂 

my BP good as usual

he wasn’t concerned about my contractions (i told him about having them 3 mins apart from 6:30p.m. til 3 a.m. described the things to worry about (baby not moving, water breaking)

measuring about 38 so right on target

…i think that was all.

we snuck off to see a movie bc the appt was another quick one 🙂 we saw Planet of the Apes, which was good! i look forward to the next one. haha i must annoy poor dennis. i always talk through movies. he’s used to it though and prob ignores me. then we went home and bc sawyer asked, my mom took the boys home with her!  i went with dennis to class and watched as usual.

this morning, one of the girls picked up sawyer and he went to a water park with his summer program group. tonight, we’ll be going to the doctor. Beau has some kind of eye infection (we think a cold in the eye bc Sawyer had some of the same goop that Beau had but his didn’t progress. Beau must’ve rubbed his eyes too much and spread it around) and Dennis says his ears hurt. Sawyer and i will likely wait in the van but go along for the ride. Beau being sick means no day off for me tomorrow 🙁 he can’t go to school like this. boooooooo.

got more clothes for the boys and for this baby from a co-worker of dennis’s  not keeping it all but some is cute! we got some stuff from dennis’s cousin last week but i’m still thinking about not keeping it bc it had a bit of a smoke smell. i washed it all on hot twice and i THINK i got it out (i have to double check and see if i still can’t smell it) but i’m still worried. cigarette smoke is thought to be connected to SIDS. i just don’t know if it’s worth a few cute outfits to take the risk…i might at least have to get rid of everything under 12 m for peace of mind. anyone else had this issue?

38 weeks tomorrow. getting there.

 

*i’ve been reading about all my faves’ kids going off to different levels of school. interesting how different it is from place to place! kindergarten is 2-3 full days a week here (until 2012 when it changes to full day every day) and they start at age 4 (sawyer started at age 3.5 though bc the cut-off is end of december) and have JK and SK. also, it doesn’t start til september! and i haven’t had to buy any supplies yet (except indoor/outdoor shoes and a lunch bag and bookbag) but that’s not every school here. just sawyer’s or certain schools that have supplies available.

 i’m one of those moms who loves it too. i can’t imagine keeping him home until he was 5.  have you noticed differences too??
 

***

 

Log in to write a note
August 17, 2011

Have you tried oxy clean? When I have mildewy towels or something stinky I soak in oxy clean then wash a couple times on hot. It’s done a good job of getting smells out in the past. No one in my family smokes so I don’t know how it would work for that though.

August 17, 2011

I want to see planet of the apes! I’m glad you liked it now I want to go more. Lol.

August 17, 2011

Not long now!! xxx

August 17, 2011

I’m not sure how the smoking thing would work on washed clothing (ie: the effects on baby)…hmmm Jamie smokes (about a pack a week) and yeah…haven’t had any issues with the kids- ever. Not to say some one wouldn’t…I’m just not sure. I can say that SIDS has sort of run on my Dad’s side…a lot of his brothers/sisters (he had 18) have lost a child to SIDS, his mom included.

August 17, 2011

Ryn: Very sad =o((( I can’t imagine!

August 17, 2011

RE: I buy new shoes about every 3 years.

August 17, 2011

Won’t be long now! I keep seeing the preview for Planet of the Apes, but it looks so….stupid. Maybe we’ll give it a try bc you’re the 3rd person I know to say it’s good lol. As for schools, I have a few people from Canada on my list and there vs. here seems to have the most differences. Most schools in the US do it the same way. Pre-school isn’t required but it sure helps. They can start that as early as 4. Regular school is Kindergarten – 12 (K being before 1). You pay feels and buy supplies lol. School supply shopping is kind of fun, I have to admit but it’d be nice to not HAVE to do it.

August 17, 2011

hmm, maybe try that detergent with febreeze in it

August 17, 2011

RYN: What Beau is in would be considered daycare here, basically. I have no doubt the education system is better there, though. Some schools, depending on state, operate on a levee system. As in, voters either pass or fail a levee to increase taxes. In areas where they don’t pass, all kinds of fees are attached. In my state, the schools don’t operate on a levee but we still pay fees. It’s complicated lol. Sawyer’s JK is pre-school here essentially. He’s getting more time – that’s good!

August 17, 2011

RE: Well, good running shoes are expensive. LOL. I can only afford to replace them every few years.

August 17, 2011

RYN: Men get awfully picky and stuck in their ways 😛

August 18, 2011

You’re getting very close! That was nice of your mom to take the boys for a day and give you some relaxation time. I think we’ve talked about JK / SK v. in the US before. A lot of kids here do preschool which these days is all about kinder preparation, i.e. recognizing letters and numbers but also some fun stuff like songs and just getting along at school. Children can begin at age 4 as far as

August 18, 2011

I remember, although there are some four year olds who start kindergarten in California (they have to be five by mid December). So maybe in pre-K they have to be four by mid December. If a child shows up to preK though and they are CLEARLY not ready, the school may tell the parents he/she can only do a modified schedule or to please return in a year. About the clothes – if they still smell I

August 18, 2011

wouldn’t use them – not only b/c of SIDS but who really wants to put a motel smell on a newborn? If the smell comes out, problem solved 🙂

August 18, 2011

come oooon baby!! LOL ryn: my biggest thing is the customer service of the company- I want good customer service. Bell was sooo disorganized and inconsistent!

August 19, 2011

RYN: I’ve heard a lot of people say the schools their kids go to don’t allow homemade treats, that hasn’t been made clear about Alyssa’s school but I’m gonna be disappointed if that’s the case :/ I kick ass at baking and I wanted to be the awesome mom who took the time to actually MAKE something to bring. Yeah, I didn’t realize we would have to supply a snack, but it does make sense. Supplying 16 kids with a snack everyday could get pretty costly for the teacher/school.

August 19, 2011

RYN no, its what he wanted to wear lol.

August 19, 2011
August 19, 2011

There are definitely differences. However, there are a few schools that allow 3-year-olds to go to school. I student taught at one a town over from where I live.

August 21, 2011

ryn: good idea, I’ll do this with Nick for sure! Hm about the sports, I thought I had seen something at the community centre where the parents join in with the kids… maybe they have to be three/four still I don’t know, will have to check!

August 22, 2011

Lots of differences… Ryn: he’d have to walk even farther by himself then. The drop off for walkers is at another door on the opposite side of the campus from his class..

August 22, 2011

RYN: Yeah I think I’m going to have to start running. When…I have no idea…but I think it will help. And yes I do need a weekend to rest! lol

August 22, 2011

RYN: no….the lab

August 22, 2011

RYN: Oh yes, there will be pics! That’s one of the reasons we’re doing this, I want pretty pics dammit! lol My priorities for it are #1 – kickass place #2 – kickass photographer #3 – kickass dress, that’s all I’m concerned about! 🙂

August 22, 2011

awe, poor beau :/ hope he feels better soon

August 22, 2011

RYN: she’s in my fb friends list. sarah collins.. she went with allison, i’ve known her since she was like 10 lol o’noir was actually pretty good, and it was interesting to be blind for like 2 hrs.. ian said eating in the dark is stupid lol, but i think it was fun cuz i was there with friends. i was glad when we left and i could see again though lol