happy half a year, Beau! *ETA just born pic

[]

 

 

lilypie breastfeeding ticker

 just born & now:

 

 

Beau is 6 months today. and he didn’t let me sleep much last night. he has NEVER slept through the night. these breastfed babies aren’t so big on the sleep, are they? maybe someday he’ll let mommy have a few hours. i only want like 5 or 6 b/c i have trouble sleeping if he’s not near me anyway (but i like sleeping alone for a bit too.)

4 months
Smiles, laughs
• Can bear weight on legs
• Coos when you talk to him

Can grasp a toy
Rolls over, from tummy to back
• Imitates sounds: "baba," "dada"
• Cuts first tooth
 

5 months
Distinguishes between bold colors
• Plays with his hands and feet

Recognizes own name
Turns toward new sounds
Rolls over in both directions
Sits momentarily without support
• Mouths objects
Separation anxiety may begin *

6 months
Turns toward sounds and voices
Imitates sounds
Rolls over in both directions
Is ready for solid foods
• Sits without support **
• Mouths objects
• Passes objects
from hand to hand
• Lunges forward or starts crawling
Jabbers or combines syllables
Drags objects toward himself

*somewhat for a while there ** he can but he likes to stiffen his body or throw himself back all of a sudden

 

beau tried pears yesterday. he’s just not big on new things. he didn’t seem to like them at all. he goes nuts on a frozen banana in the mesh feeder but doesn’t like banana rice cereal. little weirdo.

dennis’s mom was asking if he sleeps through the night, i guess (i was at yoga.) i think she feels sorry for us b/c dennis explained that beau treats food like it’s extra. you can give him all the cereal and stuff you want but it won’t fill him. he still wants to nurse and he still won’t sleep more than 4 hours overnight. she thinks cereal is the cure-all for babies who won’t sleep through the night…until now. you could put a brick in this baby’s belly and he wouldn’t sleep through. why do ppl obsess over whether or not your baby is sleeping through the night? don’t they have anything better to think about? like the fact that he doesn’t cry all the time anymore? nobody ever cared about that but my goodness the child doesn’t sleep through the night! what a freak!!

i wonder when he will crawl. he really wants to. he just can’t seem to figure it out. i think we’re in for trouble when he does…

***

 

Log in to write a note
March 27, 2009

Haha. I guess maybe they are just worried that you won’t get much sleep if he doesn’t sleep through the night? I don’t know. I do know that I would feel DEAD if I only got 5 hours a night though!

March 27, 2009

Mackenzie didn’t sleep thru the night for a looong time b/c I couldn’t bear to let her cry. First time mommy, I guess, lol! She was like 14 months I think though. I survived, lol. Oh, and she was just like Beau…the food was just ‘extra’ for her. She would eat a little and then get mad and want to nurse! i guess nothing is as good as mom. :-p

March 27, 2009

Yay for beau!! And what a beautiful picture at the top. About sleeping through the night – i don’t know where your MIL is coming from but if I knew that a friend’s baby wasn’t sleeping through the night i would be concerned about the friend not getting asleeep, not that anything was “wrong” with the baby. It just sounds hard on a parent to not get more than 4 consecutive sleep hours. Beau looks /

March 27, 2009

sounds like he’s doing great!

March 27, 2009

He’s so cute, the time has flown!!

March 27, 2009

Aww he is such a little cutie pie Maybe she was just asking cause she was worried about you.

March 27, 2009

LOL at that face he is making in the “just born” picture! It almost makes him look like an old man. (No offense – hopefully you think that is funny!!) 😉

March 27, 2009

happy half year beau! 🙂 RYN: her dad died years ago and her mom lives in mississauga and her cats are in toronto, so who knows.. i hope they’re okay!

March 27, 2009

Ryn: Here they read it, and they have it in with you. My nurses followed my last one to the letter! lol

March 27, 2009

aw. happy six months beau! he’s going to be a big boy. look at those hands in his newborn pic. it’s crazy how fast they grow. and i think the preoccupation with the whole sleeping through the night thing is because people are fixed on babies being a hard road to go, but if they sleep through the night it’s somehow easier on the mom? thats just my guess. i kind of jinxed myself with carlin. he’s now waking up twice/three times in the middle of the night and he refuses to take naps during the day. makes for a long work day thats for sure.

March 27, 2009

*hugs* Savino is 18 months and STILL won’t sleep through the night most nights. I laugh when people say “Maybe he needs to eat more” because he eats like a horse when he’s not sick. It doesn’t matter how full you get him, he still has to wake up and be held or given a bottle or SOMETHING.

March 27, 2009

ryn: i completely agree that people judge mothers too harshly, including moms judging other moms!

March 27, 2009

wow time flies huh? happy half bday Beau!

March 27, 2009

RYN: It *sounds* pricey (the homes we’re looking at) but these are actually considered cheap for these suburbs. :/ Yes, our city has monstrous housing prices!

March 27, 2009

re: i would download them, but my cd burner does not work. :/

March 28, 2009

I think that question whether a baby sleeps through the night is just a standard conversational question, but I can see why it would be very annoying for you. Those pictures are really cute.

March 28, 2009

Aww, what a change. Happy half-birthday, Beau!

March 28, 2009

RYN: Yep, auctions work pretty similarly to that here… there are open-houses and inspections, then bids are taken at auction (although I’m going to talk to the agent selling as to whether they’re accepting offers before auction – which I doubt).

March 28, 2009

Oh so precious! I can not believe it’s been 6 months already! And about the sleeping thing…baby Kimo STILL doesnt sleep through the night. And the rare time or 2 that he did, I STILL work up every couple hours checking on him LOL.

March 28, 2009

RYN: That’s how buying property generally works here (putting in an offer, it being accepted/rejected), it’s just the auctions that are different. 🙂

March 29, 2009

ryn: F1 – formula one racing :o)

March 29, 2009

Wow 6 months! He did change a whole lot just in the half year. I like how you take things one day at a time. 😉

March 29, 2009

RYN: Yes, I’m a big fan of Neil Patrick Harris as well, although I’d saw Marshall is probably my favorite character. What do you think when they discuss Robin being from Canada and how Canada is characterized on that show?

March 29, 2009

Cute cute cute!

March 29, 2009

ryn: I DO like waitressing, especially when it’s busy because the time goes by SO fast, and I like to be moving! =) And I have always had a freakishly good memory. I think I get it from my Mama!

March 30, 2009

re: tto will burn the vulva, that’s why you had the issue. the tto on the tampon didn’t bother me. it made me itch a bit more, but it gave me some relief after a while.

March 30, 2009

RE: Yeah, they check me for UTI and bladder infections every time I go to the urologist and I never have one. That’s what was so baffling. 🙁

March 30, 2009

ryn: I believe lululemon is a canadian company… I bet there is one not too far from you! They have the best, most comfy and flattering workout pants ever!! =)