03/25/2009

[]

 

 

lilypie breastfeeding ticker

 

 

you know, for the longest time, i’ve been feeling guilty for not playing with my kids that much, esp. sawyer. i used to play with him a lot more (before Beau) and i’m sure i will again. 

then it hit me the other day. my mom didn’t play with me. that’s what my sister and friends were for. and you know what? i don’t remember ever caring. i still love her, i still have a great relationship with her. so what if she didn’t get on the floor and play with my stupid toys. why should she have? 

i asked dennis if he remembers his mom playing with him. no he doesn’t. does he care? did he care. no he didn’t and doesn’t.

i have to stop taking what i read on mothering.com to heart. just b/c the moms there think i should be attached to my children at all times does not mean they are right. i love reading on that site but i really have to put myself in check sometimes after being on there enough.

sometimes i stress over the stupidest shit.

 

in other news:

 

sawyer is potty trained now. one accident a day, if that (he wears pull-ups to bed but not always to nap.) 

beau is back to being happy smiles baby.             mostly.

 

*happy dance*

***

Log in to write a note
March 25, 2009

lol. Mothers are for love, caring, and nurturing. Playing is optional. 🙂 Isn’t that what daddies and friends/sibs are for?

March 25, 2009

yay for happy babies and potty trained toddlers! That is so awesome!

March 25, 2009

I have the same guilty thoughts. But obviously our kids are loved and cared for, and I’m pretty sure they know they are loved…regardless of how often we sit down and play with them. Congrats on Sawyer being potty trained! Hooray! 🙂

March 25, 2009

Yay Sawyer!

March 25, 2009

hmm i don’t really remember if my mom played with me when i was little and i don’t care. I still love her.But yeah don’t be so hard on yourself. Your kids look happy,loved and healthy and that is all that matters. You are a good mom and don’t let anyone tell you different. yay for Sawyer 🙂

March 25, 2009

Yay for both boys. And I agree with you – I think there’s something to be said for kids who are able to entertain themselves at times. 🙂

March 25, 2009

my mom never paid any attention to me. i have issues because of it only because it’s lasted my entire life, lol

March 25, 2009

I remember coming home, going to my room and playing with my toys (ALONE) while my mom made supper. And my mom and I are very very close.

March 25, 2009

RYN: Nope, never seen them at all. You know, even as an only child I don’t remember playing with my parents all that much. And it’s not like I was a lonely or depressed child either, I just learned how to entertain myself. I think it’s good that kids learn how to do that.

March 25, 2009

I was an only child for the first ten years of my life. My parents definitely did not “play” with me the way a lot of parents play with their kids these days. I turned out okay. ;o)

March 25, 2009

You’re right. Being a good mother is not based on if you sit on the floor and play with them. You’re one busy mama! Do what you can girlie! *hugs*

March 26, 2009

:o) *hugs*

March 26, 2009

I stress everything like that too. Well the doctor says this, and the baby books say this, and this website says this, and this girl in this diary does this with her kids. I think it’s normal to stress if your doing things right. I don’t remember my mom playing with me much either but we have the best relationship in the world.

March 26, 2009

wooooo for potty training… i remember buying jared a bear in the big blue house video about potty training lmao

March 26, 2009

yeah can’t help but agree with ya there.. online stuff is funny that way – don’t doubt yourself!

YEA I’m so happy that everything came together for you! Thats great!And I know what u mean, when I get to watching tv shows or reading other sites, its really like… bla! I don’t know. I dont remember playing w/ my mom either, just my friends and sister. I think thats why they invented them!! I do play w/ both my kids but not constantly n not everyday!I try to tho!

March 28, 2009

What is important is that YOU know that you are raising your children as you wish. People, especially online, are gonna run their mouths saying really negative things about others, but you know what’s best for your family. Congrats to Sawyer. Way to go!