oopsy!

 

 

 

 

 

 

BBC believes most people will have only read 6 of the 100 books here. How do your reading habits stack up?

1 Pride and Prejudice – Jane Austen
2 The Lord of the Rings – JRR Tolkien
3 Jane Eyre – Charlotte Bronte X
4 Harry Potter series – JK Rowling
5 To Kill a Mockingbird – Harper Lee X
6 The Bible – some
7 Wuthering Heights – Emily Bronte X
8 Nineteen Eighty Four – George Orwell X
9 His Dark Materials – Philip Pullman
10 Great Expectations – Charles Dickens

Total: 4

11 Little Women – Louisa M Alcott X
12 Tess of the D’Urbervilles – Thomas Hardy X
13 Catch 22 – Joseph Heller
14 Complete Works of Shakespeare X (maybe not a few but I own it and studied Shakespeare so most of the works)
15 Rebecca – Daphne Du Maurier
16 The Hobbit – JRR Tolkien X
17 Birdsong – Sebastian Faulk
18 Catcher in the Rye – JD Salinger X (my favourite book- i should get extra points for reading it b/c none of my english classes in HS studied it and i was curious about it)
19 The Time Traveler’s Wife – Audrey Niffenegger
20 Middlemarch – George Eliot (i’ve read adam bede and hate george eliot)

Total: 5

21 Gone With The Wind – Margaret Mitchell  
22 The Great Gatsby – F Scott Fitzgerald
23 Bleak House – Charles Dickens
24 War and Peace – Leo Tolstoy
25 The Hitch Hiker’s Guide to the Galaxy – Douglas Adams
26 Brideshead Revisited – Evelyn Waugh
27 Crime and Punishment – Fyodor Dostoyevsky
28 Grapes of Wrath – John Steinbeck
29 Alice in Wonderland – Lewis Carroll X
30 The Wind in the Willows – Kenneth Grahame X

Total: 2

31 Anna Karenina – Leo Tolstoy
32 David Copperfield – Charles Dickens
33 Chronicles of Narnia – CS Lewis X (LOVE)
34 Emma – Jane Austen (I might have read this but am forgetting which austen’s I’ve read)
35 Persuasion – Jane Austen
36 The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe – CS Lewis X (why do they have this and chronicled of narnia?)
37 The Kite Runner – Khaled Hosseini X
38 Captain Corelli’s Mandolin – Louis De Bernieres
39 Memoirs of a Geisha – Arthur Golden (I own it!)
40 Winnie the Pooh – AA Milne

Total: 3

41 Animal Farm – George Orwell
42 The Da Vinci Code – Dan Brown
43 One Hundred Years of Solitude – Gabriel Garcia Marquez
44 A Prayer for Owen Meaney – John Irving
45 The Woman in White – Wilkie Collins X
46 Anne of Green Gables – LM Montgomery X 🙂
47 Far From The Madding Crowd – Thomas Hardy
48 The Handmaid’s Tale – Margaret Atwood X
49 Lord of the Flies – William Golding X
50 Atonement – Ian McEwan

Total: 4

51 Life of Pi – Yann Martel X (yay me!)
52 Dune – Frank Herbert
53 Cold Comfort Farm – Stella Gibbons
54 Sense and Sensibility – Jane Austen X
55 A Suitable Boy – Vikram Seth
56 The Shadow of the Wind – Carlos Ruiz Zafon
57 A Tale Of Two Cities – Charles Dickens
58 Brave New World – Aldous Huxley (I might’ve but don’t remember)
59 The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night – Mark Haddon
60 Love In The Time Of Cholera – Gabriel Garcia Marquez

Total: 2

61 Of Mice and Men – John Steinbeck X
62 Lolita – Vladimir Nabokov
63 The Secret History – Donna Tartt
64 The Lovely Bones – Alice Sebold X
65 Count of Monte Cristo – Alexandre Dumas
66 On The Road – Jack Kerouac
67 Jude the Obscure – Thomas Hardy
68 Bridget Jones’s Diary – Helen Fielding  
69 Midnight’s Children – Salman Rushdie
70 Moby Dick – Herman Melville

Total: 2

71 Oliver Twist – Charles Dickens
72 Dracula – Bram Stoker X
73 The Secret Garden – Frances Hodgson Burnett X
74 Notes From A Small Island – Bill Bryson
75 Ulysses – James Joyce (damnit. I’ve read the REAL Odyssey)
76 The Inferno – Dante
77 Swallows and Amazons – Arthur Ransome
78 Germinal – Emile Zola
79 Vanity Fair – William Makepeace Thackeray

Total: 2

80 Possession – AS Byatt
81 A Christmas Carol – Charles Dickens
82 Cloud Atlas – David Mitchell
83 The Color Purple – Alice Walker X
84 The Remains of the Day – Kazuo Ishiguro
85 Madame Bovary – Gustave Flaubert X
86 A Fine Balance – Rohinton Mistry
87 Charlotte’s Web – EB White X
88 The Five People You Meet In Heaven – Mitch Albom
89 Adventures of Sherlock Holmes – Sir Arthur Conan Doyle
90 The Faraway Tree Collection – Enid Blyton

Total: 3

91 Heart of Darkness – Joseph Conrad
92 The Little Prince – Antoine De Saint-Exupery X (I love The Little Prince books)
93 The Wasp Factory – Iain Banks
94 Watership Down – Richard Adams
95 A Confederacy of Dunces – John Kennedy Toole
96 A Town Like Alice – Nevil Shute
97 The Three Musketeers – Alexandre Dumas
98 Hamlet – William Shakespeare X
99 Charlie and the Chocolate Factory – Roald Dahln X
100 Les Miserables – Victor Hugo

Total: 3
 
30
 
a lot of these are american novelists, which i haven’t studied but still, i guess my results are kind of sad for someone with a master’s in english. however, i’ve read everything from middle english texts to poetry (favourite: The Marriage of Heaven and Hell.)
 
***

Log in to write a note
October 7, 2009

8!

October 7, 2009

I’ve read like 7 or 8 – lost count .. most I hated and only read because I had to lol

October 7, 2009

I have 37! Most of them multiple times. Rebecca is one I’ve read like 8 times. So is Jane Eyre.

LEJ
October 7, 2009

I was surprised to see A Prayer For Owen Meany on the list. I’ve read all of John Irvings books & that isnt one I think most people would have read. I would have guess The World According to Garp to be there.

October 7, 2009

Ha I have only read 4 lol And half of those were for school, but quite a few others are on my to read list

October 8, 2009

16, myself. Some I’d never heard of but had such interesting titles that I’m going to have to read them. Kristen

October 8, 2009

:o)

October 8, 2009

RYN: Yeah I have a big tummy too. I find that if I put the belts right under my boobs though it’s not as noticeable.

October 8, 2009

I have read 12 in their entirety and about 4 or 5 others I started lol

October 8, 2009

I like your new background on here, the color and everything! RYN: I’m not sure what medicine I should be taking. I should probably start taking Mucinex again, but ughhhh… that stuff is so strong. I can see a doctor; it would just be cutting the finances really tight. I don’t know. I feel better today but stayed home. I NEEDED MORE REST! 😀

October 8, 2009

23!

October 8, 2009

Ryn: We took her out of that ages ago! We bought her one that is of course rear facing 5-22lbs and fwd facng 22-40lbs. She used to cry if he wasn’t sitting higher, no she loves the van =o)

October 8, 2009

P.S. They DO have them at every other superstore I’ve been to around here (the baby seats)…this was the first time that they didn’t at this one.

October 8, 2009

Ryn: Oh it’s rear facing until 22 lbs and a year old, or you can always keep them rear facing longer too. =o)

October 8, 2009

I’ve only read 15. I would love to read more. Maybe someday I’ll have time.

October 9, 2009

Ryn: He has to use the umbrella thingy for root canals so he can see deep in to the canal, he knows I hate them though and never uses them for just a filling. Thank heavens! lol I hate those things!! lol He had to do a temp filling because they put this medication up inside the tooth to make sure there is noooo infection/bacteria in the tooth and then they do the *real* filling after that has been in there for a week. =O) Blah, I still hate the 5 lbs, makes me so annoyed! lol

October 9, 2009

Ryn: Oh I know! Kaleigh was a heavy girl- she was 22 lbs at FOUR MONTHS!! hahaha! She was 25 lbs at a year, and then slowed down and evened out- but she was mama’s chunk for sure! Chloe is 5.5 months and I don’t know what her exact weight is right now, but I swear she has got to be at least 18-20 lbs…she is heavy!!

October 9, 2009

Ryn: LOL that isn’t anything- I mis-read stuff all the time…lol Yeah, the difference between mine is crazy too! Kaleigh was 6lbs 3 oz at birth and Colby was 7lbs 11 oz’s but he turned out to be Mr.Delicate! lol He’s very tiny boned and is just smaller all the way around. He’s finally growing taller, but he’s still stick thin! Kaleigh was tiny from the get go but around 3 months she took off, packed on some baby fat and never looked back! lol She’s veryyyy tall for her age and way taller than anyone else in her class. She’s thinner now, but still above average in height/weight from the rest of the girls. All the other girls are probably 4 inches shorter and 15 lbs lighter! lol I was the exact same build as a kid, I think she’ll be tall.

October 9, 2009

RYN: I know, I would probably get called a child abuser. I can’t help it, when Savino gets going I just want to lose my mind sometimes! I hope he calms down a little soon, he has this ear piercing shriek that kills me. When he lets go in public, everyone looks at me like I’m killing him! Oh well, as long as I don’t give into the temptation, he might make it to see 3! LOL!

October 10, 2009

I love this list!