The Serenity Prayer

I’m listening to Joshua Radin right now. I’ve had a couple of his songs for years, but I finally downloaded the rest of his album We Were Here and a few songs off of his new album Simple Times. I completely adore this guy’s sound. I had the chance to see him play on the Carson Daly show. It was the first (and so far the only) time I was able to see him live and his stage presence is amazing. Steve-O (of Jackass fame) was one of the guests and was on stage with Carson to introduce Joshua and I loved their contrasting personalities. Steve-O is big and loud and over-the-top and completely in your face. But when Joshua takes the stage he captures the audience in a totally different way. He practically whispers into the microphone with a simple smile that beckons the audience, inviting them to lean in and listen with a still soul to the stories he sings.

As I was listening to Winter and Closer and Everything’ll Be Alright I just had this overwhelming sense of calm wash over me. I was washing dishes, wrapped up in lyrics like "There’s a hole in my pocket that’s about her size / But I think everything’s gonna be alright."

My mind has been racing so much lately. I can’t sit still for fear my world is going to come crumbling down. I’m realizing more and more that I don’t have anyone that I can depend on right now. As supportive as my friends would love to be, everyone is wrapped up in their own lives and it takes more effort than most are willing to put forth to come out to my side of town. Most people just don’t have time for me and I slip through the cracks. I’m okay with this. I know the world doesn’t revolve around me. But as control of my life slips through my fingers I’m finding it more and more difficult to be alone. I needed this. I needed his music. I needed calm. I needed hope.

 

EDIT: What the crap, yo. How is it possible that not ONE SINGLE PERSON is online. At all. Anywhere. Even my stand-by nightowls appear to have been visited by the sandman. Gahhhhhhhhh.

Log in to write a note

LOL perhaps you should consider sleeping when the rest of us do. I’ll have to listen to Josh Radin. I think he actually comes on my Pandora station but I don’t know his songs by heart.