I’m Not Moving!

I work a regular 40 hour week (8 hour day).

I come home exhausted but committed to making my 92 year old father a decent meal.

I dislike cooking.

If I were alone I would probably live happily off of cold pizza and water.

I have tried tv dinners, menu planning, healthy grocery shopping, and now the Home Chef where a box of ingredients is mailed to you.  Nothing gives me a break from an exhausting work day.

Tonight is different. My daughter has taken my dad out to an event for the evening.

I arrived home, layed down, scrolled through the apps on my phone, had some tea, got a hot shower, ate partly heated up leftovers and have happily been sitting in a reclyner since.

I’m not moving.  I “should” get something ready for when dad returns home hungry.  I “should” finish getting the Christmas tree set up.  I “should” feed the dog and give him his medicines.  I “should” run some laundry. I “should” this, and I “should” that.  But . . . I’m not moving.

Time is ticking by.  Dad will be home soon.  I’m still not moving.

More time is ticking by. The laundry won’t start itself.  I’m still not moving.

I know! I’ll pull up “OpenDiary.com” and type an entry. And I’ll watch some tv. And I’ll elevate my legs.

After that I’ll overthink this whole evening again and again.

But, I’m not moving.

Log in to write a note