Grandma, Me and Chatty Kathy

Gma Thur 1-28-1982

25 and sunny.  Sun sure looks good ater all the bad weather.  David was here for dinner.  He and Pop cut wood.  Tina got off the bus here.  Chuck and Doris went to somewhere in Nebraska.  

Gma Sun 1-28-1990

20 got up to 42 and sunny.  We went to Kansas City with Butch and Sharon and Teri.  Got Kathy and Gary and went to Golden Corral in Liberty for dinner.  The women went shopping.  Ght home about 5 PM.  Great Day.

Gma Tue 1-28-1992

24 and cloudy.  We did our chores, then hauled off the trash.  Took a spin on around but didn’t even see a hare.  I went down in the pasture and cut some hedge and a few locust.  Was just right to work at that.  Only got up to about 38.  

President gave State of Union speech but not much to hope for in the near future.  (Maybe not  later either).  

Me **1-28-2004** The year I wrote this is 2004

Yay for me!  I joined Curves last night and have been to two sessions.  For those who have never heard of Curves its an aerobic program that takes 30 minutes.  Vivian talked me into going with her, and we plan on going every day after work.  Im curious to see what effect the exercise will have on my blood sugar.  Its already had a postive effect on my energy level.  Instead of coming home from work and collapsing in front of the TV I came home and cleaned and had enough energy left afterward to catch up on diaries and write an entry on Open Diary.

I havnt seen much of my Fuzzy outdoor cat.  I think he has been scared off by the other cat who gets a free meal from me.  I have named him Gateway.  He appears to be well fed so I think he belongs to someone.  Im putting out extra dry food in hopes that after Gateway eats Fuzzy can finish the food.  I saw Fuzzy sitting in the snow in the middle of the sidewalk yesterday.  I wondered if he wasn’t sick to be out in the open but tonight I saw him eating the dry cat food I had sat out.

I audited all day yesterday at work since Lynn had jury duty.  I audited all the letters written on the 19th, 20th, 21th, 22nd, 23rd, and part of the 26th..  Its the first time in months that we have been releasing letters written the same week they were written in.  I was pretty proud of myself, and Lynn was too but the boss had to go and ruin it by taking credit for getting caught up since she released letters on Monday.

My mom was kind of freaking out when she read in my diary that I was feeding an outside cat.  She is worried Im going to turn into one of thoseladies who you see on the news with 100 cats.  She should have been here though tonight when Figaro was on the arm of the sofa rubbing his face against mine for kisses and Oink was on my lap kneading, and purring.  I need to keep a digital camera in every room so I can get pictures when they are being so cute.

Me Tue **1-28-2014 I wrote this tonight 2014**

Wow Grandma, depressed much.  I thought this must have been the State of the Union speech in which the first Bush said we were going to war, but that was actually the year before.  Ive always thought I got my depression issues from Grandma, and she does a good job of keeping it out of her diary.  

The 1990 entry was from when my cousin Gary and I were roomates.  I knew when we moved in together about the trouble he had gotten into from drinking and driving. There were constant stories about the wrecks he had been in while in high school. The one most commonly told was about his passing out at the wheel, and driving into a deserted gas station. When the police pulled up they found him still unconscious and wearing a shirt that said Hell yes Im drunk what do you think I am a stunt driver. Still that was 3 years earlier, and he had graduated from high school, and a two year course in diesel mechanics without any sign of trouble.

It didnt take me long to realise that he still had a drinking problem. The poor guy was so incredibly shy he had to consume a case of beer to get through his day. Weekends would be spent in front of the TV, watching wrestling, and working a jigsaw puzzle until he passed out. I think it was always the same jigsaw puzzle cause he never could finish one without falling out of the chair and knocking all the peices onto the floor.

He worked nights and I worked days so we managed to get along by not seeing one another. Even without all the drinking I would never live with a man again. For some reason he thought the bathroom would clean itself so I had to clean up his shit. Additionally, I could never figure out why I was always picking up stiff rags and Vaseline jars from the living room floor until I walked into the apartment one day to find him jacking off with the rag and vaseline jar in attendance. Gross! Gross! Gross!

The hardest part of this was having to deal with Grandma, Grandpa, and his parents. I didnt want to be a tattle tale but it was making me sick to see him acting like he was a responsible adult who had beaten the hold booze had over him when I knew the truth.  Even worse than that was the position I would be in when we both wanted to be at the farm. When it comes to getting into a car with an alcoholic who is known to pass out at the wheel or telling your grandma or his mother and father than he is a drunk, and you are afraid to ride with him. What do you do? For the most part I avoided the issue but there were a few times I had to accept rides with him.

Good Things I did for me

Ran 5 miles

Zumba

Stayed in calorie range

Log in to write a note
January 28, 2014

Be sure to back up your diary… OpenDiary is shutting down for good in like 2 weeks or less…

ryn: Not sure I’ll write there, but I might join PB, just so I can keep up with my friends here! I’ll look you up, if I do. 🙂 If you’d like to read my diary, I’m moving to springpeepernotes.wordpress.com.

January 28, 2014

I saw Elvis and recognized him but I didn’t even notice Dorie till you pointed her out. I’m thinking 1992 was when Bush said “Read my lips, no new taxes.” Either that or it was the year he said, “You know what, we’ve got a lot of bills to pay so it makes sense to raise taxes a bit.” Hmmm. Now I’m leaning toward the second. I see Grandma said she had a great day shopping with you. Isgood thing you never married Gary.

I’m at Prosebox -same name. Don’t know yet how active I’ll be, but I’m trying it out. We’ll miss this place, won’t we. (((hugs)))

January 29, 2014

Are you going to Prosebox? I’m there under the same name. I know we’re both on Facebook, although I haven’t been there in ages. I don’t know if you still have my email, but it’s wahnesh@yahoo.com.