i guess it’s a gift?

So I think I have this gift of not showing how awkward I feel. I must. Because if I actually looked as awkward as I felt in some conversations then people would stop having those conversations with me. Alas.

When people find out that your husband is deployed the conversation is always instantaneously awkward. So I try not to mention it. I used to work at Fred Meyers and quite a few of the people still know me there and gossip is consumed like candy there so people frequently ask me very awkward questions.

Cashier lady: Hi!! How are you?

Me: Good… how are you?

Cashier lady: Working… working. So are you still dating that one guy? Your boyfriend?

Me: Uhm my husband now actually 🙂

Cashier lady: Oh, so you got married

(Thoughts: "I actually got married to him when I was still working here… but okay whatever")

Me: Yup.

Cashier lady: I haven’t seen him in a while…

Me: Yeah, he’s in the Army. He’s actually in Mississippi right now doing some training.

Cashier lady: Oh!! I have a friend whose son is there too. So is he being deployed to Iraq?

(Thoughts: "Crap shack… here it comes")

Me: Yeah he is.

Cashier: Oh that must be hard.

Me: (awkward silence) ….yeah…

Cashier lady: Do you miss him?

(Thoughts: "….No, actually couldn’t wait for him to leave. Seriously?! Why do people even ask this?")

Me: Yeah, a lot.

Cashier lady: How do you deal with it?

(Thoughts: "HOW AM I SUPPOSED TO ANSWER THIS QUESTION? By crying a lot and cutting myself, thanks.")

Me: Just… …..  day by day I guess…..

Cashier lady: So when do they get back?

Me: September.

Cashier lady: WOW that’s a long time.

(Thoughts: "Thanks for that, I hadn’t realized…"

Me: Yup.

Cashier lady: So do you have a place to live?

(Thoughts: "……………………… …………. no. I’m homeless. YES I HAVE A PLACE TO LIVE. He’s deployed! Not dead."

Me: Yeah.

Cashier lady: So have you ever thought about coming back to work here?

(Thoughts: "and face this every day? only in my nightmares….")

Me: No… I’m actually doing college right now.

Cashier lady: Oh that’s nice.

Me: Yeah… okay well see you later…. (Exits speedily)

 


Log in to write a note