Leap Year Changes

I didn’t realize it right away, but today being Leap Year makes the changes seem even more amazing to me.

The big change that has happened today is that we have taken on guardianship of a 16 year old girl. Not at all, what I thought I would be doing or the direction I thought my life would be taken at this point in time, especially after seeing a lawyer last month to    find out what my rights would be as far as getting a divorce…………BUT…….you know what they say about life…………it likes to throw those funny curve balls at you.

My husband has a cousin, LA. that was pretty much brought up as his sister. Her parents had chosen suicide way back when she was young. There were, I believe 11 kids in the family and LA was the youngest. At age 6 hubby’s parents took her to live with them when her mother died. They are first cousins.  LA married and became pregnant with her daughter. Her husband however, died of a drug overdose when LA was pregnant with their daughter. She (LA) came to live with us until the baby was born and    stayed about a year afterwards as well before moving on with her life. In the time that J (daughter) was born and now, LA had another child by a man whom who later filed a restraining order against. They would actually have to go to a police station to hand off the boy for his visitations. They had an ugly relationship to say the least. Then we hear that LA is back with this man and having a baby (a beautiful baby boy, born in Sept of last year). About 7 weeks ago, LA left the state with the baby and left the 2 older children with this man. Something happened and he then threw out the girl (J) and she moved in with friends.  Well, LA recently came back from where she was and wants to give up guardianship of J and she told her to find a place to live by this weekend.  So we went to court and in about 30 seconds were granted guardianship of this girl.  It amazed that, in order to get a driver license in this state you have to bring 6 points of ID with you. In order to take over the care of a minor, you just show up and sign your name. 

SO yeah, I now have a 16 year old, 17 year old, 18 year old, 20 year old, 21 year old and a 22 year old living here. Call me Pollyanna…lol

Also. my youngest son turned 18 on Sat the 23 rd and on that day, he went to Fort Dix and signed up for the Marines.  Yes, I am proud of him and YES I am so very scared. I don’t want him to die…….

What I wouldn’t do for a dull moment in my life……lol

Log in to write a note
February 29, 2008

You have a heart of gold. And congrats to your son making such a huge life step… from one mom to another: welcome to the world of being a “Proud Military Parent”. 😀

March 1, 2008

Thanks for your note. Good luck to your Marine son and your new daughter. You have quite the housefull!

What a good thing you are doing for J. I bet she will remember it for the rest of her life.

March 23, 2008

Wow, God bless you for taking care of those kids and bless may God take care of your son too.

April 23, 2008

Ryn, thanks 🙂

April 24, 2008

How wonderful, what you are doing for J. And congrats to your son! I can understand that must be hard for you, as a mom, but a proud thing, too. hugs,

August 30, 2008

RYN: Thanks and thanks! I like getting complimented on my photographs.

January 2, 2009

Happy New Year!

I commend you and your husband for taking on the responsibility of yet another child. Kudos to you. ryn: Thanks for the support and such. Thank YOU for remembering. God bless you and yours.