SAYEN GARDENS, HAMILTON NJ

 

Sayen Gardens

Sayen Gardens in Hamilton (Mercer County) (609-890-3543 or 609-890-3874) is a breathtakingly beautiful attraction throughout the spring. Filled with azaleas and rhododendron brought from China, Japan and England by the late Fred Sayen, they highlight a collection of colorful blossoming species providing a feast for the eyes.

Most of the original garden areas are still intact, containing some 2,000 azaleas and 1,500 rhododendrons of hybrid and native species. You can also take the opportunity to stroll along the Garden’s pond, home to water lilies, birds and a wide array of other wildlife. Covering over 30-acres, Sayen Gardens is also said to represent New Jersey’s largest collection of bulbs, with 500,000 daffodils, tulips, snowdrops and many more. The Gardens are open daily from dusk till dawn and admission is free.

I took a walk yesterday along the winding paths of this beautiful garden, just taking in the sounds, sights and beauty of this place. It is truly a place to find serenity among the noise & confusion of your daily life. A stroll here, among nature at it’s best, is sure to calm and relax even the most harried person. I enjoyed the solitude with just occasional nods to others who like me, were lost in their own thoughts as the meandered along the many paths that gracae this place. I also was trying out my new camera and here are some of the fruits of my labor of love, so to speak.

The Outer Gardens & Bridge

The Entrance To A Beautiful Oasis

A Fountain in the Middle

I have been trying for years to be able to "freeze" water, so you can actually see the droplets of water as they fall. I think I may have gotten close with this one.

I came across many flowers that took my breath away, the leaves on some were mind boggling.

One of the may things I LOVE to do, is find a path and follow it. I love exploring the unknown. I love finding ot what’s beyond the bend in the road…..what new adventures are waiting for me.

For the longest time, all I heard was the sound of the wind rustling through the trees and plants. Gently blowing through on it’s way to pick up IT’S next adventure. It stayed long enough to tease me with its soothing reprieve from the hot sun, and long enough for me too appreciate the dance of the flowers and shrubs as they bent to the winds will. The sound of birds chirping it’s symphony complimented the winds teasing pleasure. This little bird just looked at me for the longest time as thought to say,"Come on now, take my picture, I have to take flight," and so I did, and if you look close you can see it too.

More of my adventure tomorrow…….

Log in to write a note
August 19, 2005

Beautiful pictures!!!! RYN-I teased him while he was lying on the gurny in the hospital…telling him he would have been safer on the roller coasters. Then I told him he would do just about anything to get out of doing the driving home. He took what I said in humor, as I intended it. He is fine, I think he is embarrassed by the whole thing.

Wow! How glorious to have such an adventure! And to share it with us through your fabulous photos! Such gorgeous gardens 😀 This is so wonderful. Hope you do this often for yourself. Thanks and Hugs,

August 19, 2005

Beautiful!

August 19, 2005

Wow this is beautiful! I will have to go there sometime to take it all in.

Here’s interview questions for you 🙂 Ask me to change them if there’s anything you feel uncomfortable about. Enjoy! 😀

1. What was it like and where was your secret place to go alone or with only a close friend as a child? 2. What talent would you like to have/develop that you haven’t? Or what talent are you working to improve on? 3. What is your strangest possession? 4. How do you settle differences in your closest relationships? 5. What is the most exhilarating experience you have ever had?

August 20, 2005

Beautiful pictures, each one a feast for the eyes! I espcially like the freeze water picture, and the wide green leaf. Hope you don’t mind if I save them for use as background for my subjects?

August 20, 2005

RYN, thanks a lot for allowing me to use your pictures as background. When I saw your pictures, images came to my mind..how I would position my subjects on the bridge, on top of the leaves, etc. But it may take time before I actually find time to do that. My priority right now are executive portraits and school pictures 🙂

i would love to go for a walk through a flower garden. enjoyed your pictures.

August 23, 2005

Lovely pictures!