Bonding over Madigan

For the last few weeks, my boss has been sitting in my office with me during my shift, doing half the job etc because her hours were cut because of this virus crap. She was told that the only way she could make up the rest of her hours was to work in my department. There’s been ups and downs to this arrangement. For intance, I usually do my coursework for my graduate degree program while I’m in the office, in between transferring calls on the switchboard. I’m a phone operator for a small hospital. But it’s been hard to get my school work done with her there because she wants to talk. All The Time. She’s used to working in an office where people stop in and talk to her all day long. So, I’ve started biting that bullet and using ALL of my free time in the afternoons after work to do my school work when I’m alone. My husband leaves for work right after I get home, so 4 days a week, we see each other for barely 15 minutes.

But there’s also been an upside. My boss is perfectly fine with her employees bring in their laptops or tablets to watch tv or whatever on the job in between calls. We’d have to do that and use the hospital wifi, because our IT department keeps most websites blocked on the hospital computers. Anyway, she told me all about her son who passed away last year. It was a tragic circumstance. He was just a month away from turning 21. I listened to her story, and made her feel a little better. Just good practice I guess for being a counselor. Then, on another day, I introduced her to my favorite female comedian, Kathleen Madigan. I bought her first comedy special on Youtube as it is no longer available on Netflix and we watched it together. She really enjoyed it too.

I like Kathleen Madigan because she doesn’t make cringy and disgusting jokes or behave in a cringy and disgusting manner like some other female comedians… She’s an older woman and she comes off as very down to earth and very good at observation. I would have to say I think her funniest jokes are when she talks about the things her parents say and do. She does talk about politics a little, and she does make it known she stands on the left side of things, but she’s not negative about anything, which I immensely appreciate. Even Steven Crowder likes her which I thought was awesome. In one of his videos, I heard him tell everyone on his show that Kathleen Madigan is his favorite female comedian. I’m sure she appreciates the praise she gets from both sides of the aisle. Because why would you want to isolate half your fan base?

Log in to write a note