The 80s Will Live Forever

It was only a few short years ago that I decided to watch 1983’s Valley Girl. I’ve seen every John Hughes teen movie plus his non-teen movies, both directed ones and produced. I’ve also seen Footloose, Say Anything, and Better Off Dead. And I love ALL of them. I mean that. I love the 80’s music as well. I created a Youtube playlist of 80’s songs that currently has 223 songs on it. Curse you Don Henley for not allowing your most famous solo songs to not be allowed on Youtube btw. Anyway, when I watched Valley Girl, truthfully, I didn’t much care for it. It seemed like it had a very low budget and I just didn’t care for the characters. So now fast forward to a few days ago when it came up while I was scrolling FB that the new Valley Girl movie was being released to rent or buy on Amazon. So I decided to rent it and watch it. Pretty much every other remake I’ve ever seen I’ve hated. But this one, I genuinely liked. The story seemed to have more depth to it, plus the cinematography was wonderful. And of course I can’t forget all of the 80’s songs they covered.

It must not just be older people like me who either grew up in the 80’s or was a small child in the 80’s like me who still love it because think of all the shows and things lately that have been capitalizing on that decade. Stranger Things, Onward, the last season of American Horror Story, Ready Player One, and now Valley Girl. Did I miss any? If these things weren’t making money, Hollywood would move on from it. But apparently it is. Now if only we could get one of local watering holes to have an 80’s night once a week or once a month… they’d make money from me that’s for sure.

Today I got the idea to work out to a Tae Bo video that I’ve done so many times over the years that I know all the moves. I turned the exercise video down to where it was barely audible and then turned on my 80’s music playlist Youtube on my laptop and set it to shuffle mode. This was actually a great idea. I would never have done it if I had actually needed to listen to Billy Blanks yelling out what was next. I did half the exercise video because it’s an hour long and that’s just a bit too much for me. I like to exercise everyday because once you do it for so many days it becomes a habit to where you feel bad if you skip it. So I figure I’ll try to do the other half tomorrow and just switch back and forth between the halves. The songs that came up while I did the exercise video and then stretched were

Sister Christian- Night Ranger

Never Surrender- Corey Hart

Hold On Loosely- 38 Special

Pride (In the Name of Love)- U2

Come Back and Stay- Paul Young

Beat It- Michael Jackson

Dance Hall Days- Wang Chung

It Must Have Been Love- Roxette

Enjoy the Silence- Depeche Mode

I Can Dream About You- Dan Hartman

Log in to write a note
May 19, 2020

My granddaughter (soon to be 18) loves the music of the 60’s.  Her taste is eclectic so she listens to all eras, but mainly the 60’s 70’s & 80’s.  She actually includes tunes from the 20’s as well, especially the Blues.  Like you, she often comments that the soundtracks of today’s movies use songs from by-gone eras.

I loved (still do when in the mood) listening to The Eagles, Creedence Clearwater Revival, Three Dog Night as well as The Platters, Fleetwood Mac, most folk artists etc.  Music has always played an important part in my life.  My daughter is into fitness  and she always works out to her favorites.

May 20, 2020

@adrift my dad listens to a lot of those 60’s bands you mentioned as well as Grand Funk Railroad. So I know a little bit about most of them.