What did I do?

I think my mother as some pent up anger towards me held up deep inside her somewhere. I’d be lying if I said it didn’t hurt, the way she treats me sometimes.

I’ve been thinking. I wonder if my mother is jealous of the relationship I have with my dad. It’s silly but I see the way she looks at me when he values my opinion and turns away from hers. I ‘m going to try to explain it but I’m not sure if it will be clear enough for you all to understand me without thinking of my mother negatively.

I love my mother very much. I really, really do. But sometimes I wonder if her love for me has faded into a green monster.

My father has a history of working with the government a few ears ago. He was in the military and has probably seen many things my mother isn’t even able to dream of. Because of my interest in some of those things, I have developed a bond with him that my mother could never understand. I’ve always been some what of a tom-girl at heart and have always enjoyed the action movies equally – if not more – than the romance movies. Obviously, my father enjoys the same things and has even consented to taking me along on one of his shooting trips (something you could never pay my mother to do. The woman despises guns.)

Not only does our liking for guns and violent films bring us together, but also we have a common agreement of the understanding of women.

I’m not big on shopping. Neither is dad. We walk in to a store looking for what we need and come out less than 30 after with it. Mother on the other hand, takes at least 1 hour to find not only what she was looking for but also at least another 10 items she doesn’t need or desperately wanted.

It may seem petty but it seems that she despises how we connect. I can’t help it! And just so you all know, this man is not my biological father. He adopted me a few years ago actually, when my mother and him had been married for about 3 years.

Anyhow…I don’t know if I should approach her about it or if I should just let it go and forget about it and rub it off whenever she seems to get angry with me. There are more instances when she’s shown a bit of animosity towards me but I am being told to get off the computer because my Carpal Tunnel will undoubtedly flare soon seeing as how I’ve been online for a while now.I just don’t know what to do.

Log in to write a note
February 3, 2010

I think it is beautiful that you have a tight bond with your new dad. Keep it for as long as you can because he will be your rock in time. It is my opinion that you not bring it up to your mother and that you just let it go. Specially if she is not fighting you or your dad about the bond between you both. It could be that she is jealous if she is not tight with her dad. Stay close to him.

June 12, 2010

You talk about her being jeaolous but you do not say how she might exhibit the jealousy. What does she do and what does she say? How does she treat you when you are with her? Thoughthere are exceptions, most moms are never jealous of their children. Sometimes “other’things might becoming across as jealousy. How do you and your mom spend time together ? or if? or when? <br> Perhaps she just misses you, and finds thatthere is less time for you two together as you both get older. Only your Mom and God knows whether she is jealous or not.