These walls…

Did you know that the tar from cigarettes, if smoked enough (5 packs a day enough), stains the walls? As I was thinking about this, I realized I didn’t know what mobile (manufactured) home walls were made of. I googled it and turns out it’s vinyl-on-gypsum panels. Those panels turned yellow. Did you also know that in areas of high humidity, like the bathroom, that tar on the walls softens, collects, and pools…almost melting enough to drip off the ceiling in the shower. Oh, and the smell…

Now, so many years later, I am sitting in a room with walls made of African mahogany. My husband cut, sanded, stained, and waxed panel after panel, month after month for a full year to make this my favorite room of the house. There is so much love here, tangible and permanent.

These walls make my heart sing.

Log in to write a note
November 17, 2021

Icky!